Community
Vault Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Vault Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Vault topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need some advice setting up Vault Basic 2014

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
jrobinson
299 Views, 3 Replies

Need some advice setting up Vault Basic 2014

I'm new to vault and setting up a Vault Basic 2014 for the first time. Here's our setup first:

The server:

Windows Server 2008 computer which has Vault Basic 2014 and the Content Center libraries installed. The server has a separate drive (D) for data and has a file share called "Drafting". Using the ADMS, I moved our Vault's File Store under this Drafting folder, so its path from the server's perspective is D:\Drafting\Vault.

Client's machines:

Each of the 5 clients' machines has a drive letter K: which maps to the Drafting share on the server. So technically-speaking K:\Vault is the location of our Vault file store from the clients' perspective.

I need some advice about the setup for Inventor project file (.ipj) for Vault project. Since we have 5 clients, they will use the same project file templates, styles, etc. Should we put the Design Data, Templates, etc. out on the server, for example in a folder K:\Inventor?

The Vault Working Folder for the clients is a folder called "Vault" inside their My Documents folders. Should I change this to something more common to each machine like C:\Users\Public\Public Documents\Vault and then in the project file set thw Workspace location it for C:\Users\Public\Public Documents\Vault\Workspace?

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
minkd
in reply to: jrobinson