Community
Vault Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Vault Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Vault topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help with Civ 3D drawings over the network, will Vault help with this?

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
Briggsa
194 Views, 1 Reply

Need help with Civ 3D drawings over the network, will Vault help with this?

Hello I posted this in Civ3d Forum but didnt realize there is a vault forum.   I am a Tech for the IT dept for a county and I have been in a uphill battle with our Public Works Department with improving speeds loading projects and drawings over the network.  As it currently stands all the Engineers have powerful Dell Precision T5600 Desktops 3.0 Quad Xeon, 16GB Ram, 500GB SAS drive and 2GB Quadro 4000 with a 1GB link directly to the engineering server, but drawings take forever to Load, and drawings lock up for awhile when saving and the bigger the drawing the longer it takes over all.  So my question is what is the best practice or what are my options to improve loading Cival 3D from a dedicated server?  We tried copying over drawings localy and confirmed the Desktops are not the problem cause everything loads very quickly without a hitch and its not a option to copy and paste over everything they need to do every day of the week.  We have been in the works with the Autocad vender we get the licensing for and they said Vault is the exact product that fixes that issue but the PW dept refuses to try it and i dont know enough about it and hope i could get some insite on weather or not it a good program to use or not and if there is any other options besides vault that offer simular abilities.  I appricate any assistace on this cause as of right now we are out of ideas.

Thanks,

1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2
bpettus
in reply to: Briggsa