Vault General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
robridings
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎03-08-2011
Message 1 of 18 (739 Views)
Accepted Solution

Error when producing a Vault report from within Inventor

739 Views, 17 Replies
09-13-2012 07:43 AM

When I try to create a Vault report from within Inventor (Vault>Map Data>) using the standard report template Vault Professional 2012 In-CAD.rdlc I get an error message:- "Cannot generate report from the template. Please make sure your template is valid"

This occurs on several users PC's as well as mine, but does appear to work fine with no problems on two other PC's.

I have copied the template from my local C: drive to the working PC's and it opens with no problems, so it appears that the template is ok.

For information we're running the following:-

Windows 7 x64

Inventor 2011+SP1,SP2, Subscription advantage pack

Vault Professional 2012+SP1

 

Any ideas??

Inventor 2014 Pro SP1, Vault 2014 Pro SP1
Windows 7, 64-bit
Intel Xeon 3.6GHz
32GB
Nvidia Quadro 4000
Employee
Senthil-Autodesk
Posts: 580
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 2 of 18 (715 Views)

Re: Error when producing a Vault report from within Inventor

09-13-2012 11:04 PM in reply to: robridings

I just tried in this environment I do not see the issue either

 

Vista x86

Inventor 2011+SP1,SP2, Subscription advantage pack

Vault Professional 2012+SP1

Inventor 2011 Subscription Advantage Pack Service Pack 2 Client Update for Autodesk Vault 2012 Server Release (TS16822758)

 

I hope you have the last mentioned update (TS16822758) installed in your system and also your Inventor 2011 is connected to Vault 2012 Server. Is this correct?

 

Is there any difference in Installation / Configuration between the PCs in which Data Mapping is working and not working?

 

Other option is to try a repair install on Vault 2012 and Inventor 2011 on one PC where Datamapping is not working  to see if that helps.

 

 



Senthil Kumar
Vault QA Team
Autodesk, Inc.


Be sure to check out the Vault Help!
Contributor
robridings
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎03-08-2011
Message 3 of 18 (707 Views)

Re: Error when producing a Vault report from within Inventor

09-13-2012 11:15 PM in reply to: robridings

We have the update TS16822758 installed on all PC's.

 

I considered that there may be an issue running Inv.2011 with Vault 2012 but as I mentioned, this setup works on 2 other PC's.

 

We have only recently started using Vault so all the configurations are the same - hence my confusion as to why this should be happening on some machines but not others.

 

Regarding repairing Vault and Inv. this is also something that I have tried along with a complete reinstall of both but with no improvement.

 

Inventor 2014 Pro SP1, Vault 2014 Pro SP1
Windows 7, 64-bit
Intel Xeon 3.6GHz
32GB
Nvidia Quadro 4000
Employee
Senthil-Autodesk
Posts: 580
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 4 of 18 (703 Views)

Re: Error when producing a Vault report from within Inventor

09-13-2012 11:19 PM in reply to: robridings

Is it only that Template file or all the template files?

 

In any case I would recommend you to log a support case with our Product Support so that someone from Product support can see the issue and assist you.



Senthil Kumar
Vault QA Team
Autodesk, Inc.


Be sure to check out the Vault Help!
Contributor
robridings
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎03-08-2011
Message 5 of 18 (701 Views)

Re: Error when producing a Vault report from within Inventor

09-13-2012 11:24 PM in reply to: Senthil-Autodesk

It occurs with all files.

The support ticket has already been raised but I thought I'd also post on here to see if anyone had a similar experience.

I will update if I get any positive results.

Thanks for you suggestions though!

Inventor 2014 Pro SP1, Vault 2014 Pro SP1
Windows 7, 64-bit
Intel Xeon 3.6GHz
32GB
Nvidia Quadro 4000
Active Contributor
katterbauer
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎04-06-2011
Message 6 of 18 (652 Views)

Re: Error when producing a Vault report from within Inventor

09-20-2012 07:15 AM in reply to: robridings

Hi,

i experienced the same problem with Vault Prof 2013.

If i log in to Windows 7 with administrative rights, all reports run fine. If i log in with default user rights the error message pops up telling me something is wrong with the report template.

Maybe you could verify this in your own enviroment - it then seems to have something to do with user rigths in windows and a failed access to some files/registry keys?!

 

klaus

 

Product Support
Olaf.Górski
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎08-23-2010
Message 7 of 18 (618 Views)

Re: Error when producing a Vault report from within Inventor

09-27-2012 03:35 AM in reply to: katterbauer

Hi Rob, Hi Klaus,

 

Just try to launch Inventor application with “Run as Administrator” (Start, navigate to Inventor, right Mouse click, “Run as Administrator”). Does it help?

 

I’m aware of Rob is running Windows 7 with full administrator rights, but the UAC settings may prevent specifically running Inventor as Admin.



Olaf Górski
Mentor
PACDrafting
Posts: 587
Registered: ‎10-22-2007
Message 8 of 18 (451 Views)

Re: Error when producing a Vault report from within Inventor

04-29-2013 08:48 PM in reply to: robridings

Can someone from Autodesk help here.....

 

Is it possible to use the Map Data function in Inventor without local admin rights.

 

We have users setup as power users and will not allow them local admin rights.

 

This function will only work if logged in with admin rights.

 

Thanks

Employee
Senthil-Autodesk
Posts: 580
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 9 of 18 (449 Views)

Re: Error when producing a Vault report from within Inventor

04-29-2013 08:50 PM in reply to: PACDrafting

When a Non Administrative User tries to use the Default Templates for generating Reports using Data Mapping, an error comes up saying Template is not valid. To resolve that issue use the following procedure to add the URL to the URL access control list.

 

The following should be run by Administrator in the command prompt.

 

runas /user:<domain or machine name>\<user with admin rights> “netsh http add urlacl url="http://+:8000/inventor/" user="<domain or machine name>\<current username>”"

 

Let me know if you see any issue.



Senthil Kumar
Vault QA Team
Autodesk, Inc.


Be sure to check out the Vault Help!
Mentor
PACDrafting
Posts: 587
Registered: ‎10-22-2007
Message 10 of 18 (436 Views)

Re: Error when producing a Vault report from within Inventor

04-30-2013 10:13 PM in reply to: Senthil-Autodesk

Thanks Senthil

 

Works fine.

Announcements
New button for Platinum & Gold Subscription customers
Gold & Platinum Subscription customers can alert Autodesk if they require assistance with their forum post

Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.