Community
Vault Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Vault Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Vault topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Database Mirroring

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
dbarroco
489 Views, 7 Replies

Database Mirroring

Hello,

Anyone has PS2009 with SQL mirroring enabled for automatic failover?

Any clues on its behaviour/setup?

Thanks
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
in reply to: dbarroco

You may or may not be talking about enabling
replication - do NOT do this...

However, for Productstream, you can leverage the
"remote" SQL connect (custom install option) which would allow you to point to a
properly configured failover SQL server.  (given it's a virtual server
name.... no difference to the ADMS server)

--
Brian Roepke
Sr. Product Line Manager
Data
Management
Autodesk, Inc.
Message 3 of 8
dbarroco

I'm talking about the 'mirroring' feature in SQL2005. I'm still studying this, because unlike clustering - where you have a virtual server name - you configure the mirroring aspect (princioal, failover and witness server) directly in the main database.

i'm not sure how will it behave since i've got no virtual server name. I'll have to test this.

After enabling mirroring in my 'primary' instanced server - i'll - as you said - point to this primary server in the adms installation.

thanks for the tip on the replication feature.

Are there any developments regarding database failover in PS2010?

This client is just a step from upgrading his PS5 version, but i've got to fulfill this demands. (PS5 is not too good - they have a 4Gb filestore w/ 44mb of database - and some thousands items) PS can't get the list of some folders (vault explorer can). It timeouts...
Message 4 of 8
Anonymous

You might want to log a support case and discuss
this with the team - there were MANY performance improvements in 2009 including