Vault General Discussion

Vault General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
DannyVanDuijn
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎07-04-2006
Message 1 of 10 (348 Views)

Change display username of windows account

348 Views, 9 Replies
01-21-2013 02:40 AM

We're using AD account to create Vault Accounts. However, the username is displayed as Domainname\Username and is used as username in Vault.

The problem is that this configuration is used in Vault Revision Table on drawings. So the name is displayed in the table as Domainname\Username when a file is released.

Is there a way to change the display of the usename of AD -accounts in Vault?

 

Cheers Danny

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,417
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 2 of 10 (336 Views)

Re: Change display username of windows account

01-21-2013 05:02 AM in reply to: DannyVanDuijn

I was wondering the same thing, for the same reason the other day.  You could create a User Defined Property that is filled in or selected from a list of values for this... but I've recently found that UDP's don't work and play well with the Vault revision tables.  Not sure if it's a bug or not, but I have been looking into it.  System properties work ok, but as you mentioned, username shows up WITH the domain name attached... and that won't cut it.

 

Anyone have any ideas on this?

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cadtipstricks.wordpress.com//


   

Valued Contributor
DannyVanDuijn
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎07-04-2006
Message 3 of 10 (316 Views)

Re: Change display username of windows account

01-22-2013 04:57 AM in reply to: cbenner

Hi ChrisB,

 

I'm glad I'm not alone in this matter.

Thanks for your input and posting it on the forum.

 

I hope Autodesk will look into it soon and post their findings/ideas.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,417
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 4 of 10 (293 Views)

Re: Change display username of windows account

01-25-2013 05:54 AM in reply to: DannyVanDuijn

Danny,

 

I've fixed the issue I was having with the revision table not working at all... so now I can say that for your situation, the best thing to do might be to create a User Define Property like Revision Author.  I did this, and set it as a list value and filled the list with the names of all the users as I want them to appear in the revision block.  I did the same with the approving engineer.  I also have UDP's for the revision description field and the revision date.

 

Here is a screen capture of the Rev Author.  What I do is when the State has been changed from Released to WIP, I edit properties on the file and change these properties... it will set them for the current version and leave the settings for previous versions intact.  If you need more help with this let me know.  I'm just happy I got it working again.

 

def.JPG

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cadtipstricks.wordpress.com//


   

Valued Contributor
DannyVanDuijn
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎07-04-2006
Message 5 of 10 (288 Views)

Re: Change display username of windows account

01-25-2013 06:43 AM in reply to: cbenner

Hi Chris,

 

Thanks for your reply but this does not cover my problem. The Vault RevisionTable is working normally but it will display the username with the domain name.

When using a Vault account instead of a Window Account it will display the username which is set in de user settings menu of Vault. With a Windows Account you can not override the username field in the usersettings menu of Vault; it is greyed out. That behavior is logic because is it imported from the Active Directory environment.

My question is: is it possible to override this field or can I use another field without manual interaction. I do not want to let the user choose the release name. I just want to use the acountname.....without the domainname attached to it.

 

See attached image how a Windows account username looks like.

 

Any suggestion is welcome.

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,417
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 6 of 10 (282 Views)

Re: Change display username of windows account

01-25-2013 07:12 AM in reply to: DannyVanDuijn

Danny,

 

I'm saying that instead of using the actual username in your Vault revision table, create a User Defined Property... then it will show up however you want it to.  You just have to map the Revision Table to that property.

 

Capture.JPG

 

My guess is that you are using system properties like "checked out by"?

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cadtipstricks.wordpress.com//


   

Valued Contributor
DannyVanDuijn
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎07-04-2006
Message 7 of 10 (279 Views)

Re: Change display username of windows account

01-25-2013 07:29 AM in reply to: cbenner

Chris,

 

I know what you mean, but then the user have to set the UDP manually. If the UDP can be mapped from the login name, it is a workable solution. I want to avoid any manual interaction, for security reasons.

 

The Checked Out By property is not used, but has the same value as the used Created By property (both system properties). You are right about that.....

 

Danny

 

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,417
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 8 of 10 (275 Views)

Re: Change display username of windows account

01-25-2013 08:35 AM in reply to: DannyVanDuijn

OK... I getcha.  I think right now the only way around this is to NOT use the Windows Authentication.  That's the only solution I've found anyway.  That's what prompted me to the UDP's.  But there's only a handful of us here so it's not a big security issue.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cadtipstricks.wordpress.com//


   

Valued Contributor
DannyVanDuijn
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎07-04-2006
Message 9 of 10 (272 Views)

Re: Change display username of windows account

01-25-2013 09:33 AM in reply to: cbenner

Chris,

 

Thanks for posting your findings to the forum. Not using Windows account is not an option for the security/administrative reasons.

It is clear now that there is no solution for this. Perhaps in the future there will be....

 

Danny

Employee
paul.gunn
Posts: 497
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 10 of 10 (266 Views)

Re: Change display username of windows account

01-25-2013 12:20 PM in reply to: DannyVanDuijn

Hi,

 

You are right that there is not a way to use a different display name for domain users.

 

I'd recomment logging this on the Idea Exchange to raise visibility.

 

Paul

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
New button for Platinum & Gold Subscription customers
Gold & Platinum Subscription customers can alert Autodesk if they require assistance with their forum post

Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.