Community
Vault Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Vault Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Vault topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot Edit User Defined Property

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
meck
722 Views, 5 Replies

Cannot Edit User Defined Property

I'm a vault admin newbee so be gentle.

I have a UDP called Customer that is mapped to the Company property in Inventor. I also want to use Customer with PDF files after they are placed into vault. When I try to edit the pdf's customer property in the vault the field is grayed out. I assume I have a setting incorrect but I cannot figure out what it is.

Can someone give me some guidence to track down this issue.

Attached is a screen shot of the mapping for the UDP Customer. (If that even helps)

Thanks in advance!

Mike Eck
Master Drafter/ CAD Programmer
Using Inventor 2018
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
cbenner
in reply to: meck

Hi,

Based on your image, I assume you are using the "Other" settings to populate the .pdf files?  If so, this mapping is set to run from file to Vault as a one way mapping.  This means the property can only be changed on the file, and then will update in the Vault when the file is checked in.  To be able to change it in the Vault and "push" out to the file the mapping needs to go both ways.

Also, just wondering why you have so many (assuming) identical mappings in your Autocad section.  These could cause conflicts.  One per file type is best.

Message 3 of 6
meck
in reply to: cbenner

Thanks for the response.

I tried to set the other to go both ways but it will not let me change it. It doesn't respond when I click on it. Can I set up a file type just for pdfs? If so where do I do that at?