Vault General Discussion

Vault General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
shady05
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-07-2009
Message 1 of 10 (485 Views)

Can't access content center from Inventor 2009

485 Views, 9 Replies
10-06-2009 05:21 AM
hi,

we are using inventor 2009 , Vault 2009 is installed on each workstation , all the work stations work with windows XP prof. , ASMS 2009 and content center only are installed on the server, the server is working with windows server 2003.

Now we can work with all vault options through inventor an vault explorer.

The problem that we can't access content center from inventor, when we use place from content center from inventor we get empty library, any solution??
*Adam Luttenbacher \(Autodesk\)
Message 2 of 10 (485 Views)

Re: Can't access content center from Inventor 2009

10-06-2009 08:20 AM in reply to: shady05
The first place I would look is at your project file. In the Inventor
project editor, select the 'Configure Content Center Libraries' button and
make sure your Content Center Libraries are loaded correctly.

You may receive better advice from the users on the Autodesk Inventor
discussion group.

Regards,
Adam

"shady05" wrote in message news:6266407@discussion.autodesk.com...
hi,

we are using inventor 2009 , Vault 2009 is installed on each workstation ,
all the work stations work with windows XP prof. , ASMS 2009 and content
center only are installed on the server, the server is working with windows
server 2003.

Now we can work with all vault options through inventor an vault explorer.

The problem that we can't access content center from inventor, when we use
place from content center from inventor we get empty library, any solution??
*David Mink \(Autodesk\)
Message 3 of 10 (485 Views)

Re: Can't access content center from Inventor 2009

10-06-2009 08:21 AM in reply to: shady05
Some things to try ...

1) Make sure the Inventor 2009 libraries are present on the server by
running the ADMS-Console.

2) In Inventor 2009, it is possible to use a different ADMS's for content
libraries and vault. Make sure you have your sign-in configured to use the
same ADMS for both.

3) In Inventor go into the project editor and press the "Configure Content
Center Libraries" button on the lower right. Make sure the libraries you
need are configured in the project.

4) Make sure you don't have any filters setup to limit the content you will
see.

Hope one of these helps,

Dave Mink
Autodesk / Data Management
Active Member
shady05
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-07-2009
Message 4 of 10 (485 Views)

Re: Can't access content center from Inventor 2009

10-06-2009 09:33 AM in reply to: shady05
Thanks for your support,
i actually tried the following:
1- i checked the libraries through ADMS 2009 and its exist
2- I checked that we log to both vault and content center through the same ADMS , one log in for both
3- i checked that i don’t have any filters in the display
4- i check the content center through inventor project and i could see all the libraries that i have installed but in a red color and at the last column its says that the library is not available and o don’t have access to the library,

i don't know why although i can access vault to check in and out the files without any problems.
Active Member
shady05
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-07-2009
Message 5 of 10 (485 Views)

Re: Can't access content center from Inventor 2009

10-07-2009 05:22 AM in reply to: shady05
anyone have a soultion?
*Adam Luttenbacher \(Autodesk\)
Message 6 of 10 (485 Views)

Re: Can't access content center from Inventor 2009

10-07-2009 07:19 AM in reply to: shady05
Thanks for the details. The red text in the Content Center Editor indicates
that the libraries are not attached correctly for some reason. You can try
deleting the libraries and re-adding them to see if this resolves the
problem. You will have to make your ipj file editable in order to do this.

The reason you can access your files in the Vault is because the issue that
you are having has to do with the way your Content Center Libraries are
configured.

Regards,
Adam

"shady05" wrote in message news:6267368@discussion.autodesk.com...
anyone have a soultion?
*David Mink \(Autodesk\)
Message 7 of 10 (485 Views)

Re: Can't access content center from Inventor 2009

10-07-2009 09:47 AM in reply to: shady05
Hmm, try Adam's suggestion to remove and re-add the libraries to your
project via the Configure Content Center Libraries dialog.

If there are no libraries available to add, then is it possible that what
you are seeing in the ADMS-Console are the 2008 libraries instead of the
2009 libraries? In the console select one of the libraries - in the right
pane one of the fields should be the "Partition" - it should indicate that
the library is in the Inventor *2009* partition. If it shows that they are
in the 2008 partition you will need to install the 2009 libraries.

Hope this helps,
Dave Mink
Autodesk / Data Management
Active Member
shady05
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-07-2009
Message 8 of 10 (485 Views)

Re: Can't access content center from Inventor 2009

10-08-2009 03:18 AM in reply to: shady05
yes , you are right, the libraries are for 2008 as you said, but i have migrated these libraries so why i can't access them?

anyway, i will reinstall the new 2009 libraries again.
Thanks for your support
Employee
polo.zhenshi
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎05-14-2008
Message 9 of 10 (485 Views)

Re: Can't access content center from Inventor 2009

10-09-2009 01:59 AM in reply to: shady05
Hello,
Besides try the method Adam and David mentioned, could you also check whether you have changed the access options from Inventor Desktop Content to Autodesk Vault Server( you can access from: Inventor Tools->Application Options->Content Center.
Regards,
Polo
*David Mink \(Autodesk\)
Message 10 of 10 (485 Views)

Re: Can't access content center from Inventor 2009

10-09-2009 08:41 AM in reply to: shady05
When you "migrated" the libraries you allowed them to be served up to
clients by ADMS 2009. However, they have not been "migrated" to work with
Inventor 2009 since that would take *much* longer than installing the
already migrated 2009 content from the installation media.

For custom content libraries, the process is to copy the library from the
2008 to the 2009 partition (since Inventor 2008 could still be in use) and
then updating those libraries to work with 2009. We don't support copying
the standard content libraries that we ship to new partitions since it is
just way more practical to just install the new ones.

Hope this helps,
Dave Mink
Autodesk / Data Management
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
New button for Platinum & Gold Subscription customers
Gold & Platinum Subscription customers can alert Autodesk if they require assistance with their forum post

Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.