Vault General Discussion

Vault General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
BSchubring
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
Message 1 of 7 (182 Views)

ACA 2013 with Vault Pro 2013 Error

182 Views, 6 Replies
01-28-2013 08:29 AM

I'm not sure which product exactly is having tddhe problem here, and I was hoping to get some assistance. The user is getting the following error when attempting to check out drawings from Vault:aca-vault_error.png

 

I asked him to get the details from the crash, and this is the top portion of the results:

************** Exception Text **************

System.InvalidOperationException: Invoke or BeginInvoke cannot be called on a control until the window handle has been created.

   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.MarshaledInvoke(Control caller, Delegate method, Object[] args, Boolean synchronous)

   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.BeginInvoke(Delegate method, Object[] args)

   at Autodesk.DataManagement.Client.Framework.Vault.Forms.Controls.RevisionsDropdownControl.loadContentsOnWorkerThread(Object stateInfo)

   at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean ignoreSyncCtx)

   at System.Threading.QueueUserWorkItemCallback.System.Threading.IThreadPoolWorkItem.ExecuteWorkItem()

   at System.Threading.ThreadPoolWorkQueue.Dispatch()

   at System.Threading._ThreadPoolWaitCallback.PerformWaitCallback()

 

 

Is there anyone adept at deciphering this?  This issue is hitting him often, but it appears to be only the one user.

Employee
matt.smith
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎02-22-2010
Message 2 of 7 (161 Views)

Re: ACA 2013 with Vault Pro 2013 Error

01-29-2013 07:31 AM in reply to: BSchubring

The issue is coming from the Vault side of things.  A support case is probably the best route to take.  Based on the error I'm a bit surprised that it is only happening for one users.  Does that user have different Service Packs/Hotfixes installed than others?

 

Distinguished Contributor
BSchubring
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
Message 3 of 7 (159 Views)

Re: ACA 2013 with Vault Pro 2013 Error

01-29-2013 07:37 AM in reply to: BSchubring

Thanks for the reply, I'll consider going the support route when I take posession of that laptop later this week.

 

His patch level should be the same as most other users, I set this machine up in parallel with quite a few other identical machines, so unless he's made changes it should be a typical setup.

Employee
matt.smith
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎02-22-2010
Message 4 of 7 (152 Views)

Re: ACA 2013 with Vault Pro 2013 Error

01-29-2013 08:06 AM in reply to: BSchubring

Ok, sounds good.  In the meantime, do you know the steps to reproduce the issue on his machine?  I'll see if I can reproduce it.

Active Contributor
Radioflyer651
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎12-05-2007
Message 5 of 7 (111 Views)

Re: ACA 2013 with Vault Pro 2013 Error

05-03-2013 10:09 AM in reply to: matt.smith

Has there been any progress with this?  We're having this issue, and have been struggling with it.

 

By the way, this issue is specific to several users on our system.  We don't have any steps to reproduce it however, as it seems fairly random.  Sometimes we can't get past the "Open From Vault" dialog screen, and others we can open many files until we have issues.  It's always to do with the "Open From Vault" dialog.  I have been able to get the crash to occur by simply selecting some files too.

 

Richard

Employee
matt.smith
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎02-22-2010
Message 6 of 7 (92 Views)

Re: ACA 2013 with Vault Pro 2013 Error

05-06-2013 08:44 AM in reply to: Radioflyer651

Richard,

I have no update (i.e. I don't have a reproducible case).  The best route for you would be to open a case with support.

Distinguished Contributor
BSchubring
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
Message 7 of 7 (88 Views)

Re: ACA 2013 with Vault Pro 2013 Error

05-06-2013 08:49 AM in reply to: BSchubring

I can't recall exactly, but I think we solved this by finding out that the drawing itself was corrupted.  Trying to open and check out simultaneously caused this error.

 

Instead, we did a Get, then browsed to the file's location on the hard drive and opened it directly with AutoCAD. AutoCAD failed to open the file.  Vault returns odd error messages wnen you try to do the simultaneous checkout/open on a file that has problems.

 

Like I said, I'm not 100% sure this is the solution for this problem, but I feel like it probably was.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
New button for Platinum & Gold Subscription customers
Gold & Platinum Subscription customers can alert Autodesk if they require assistance with their forum post

Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.