Vault General Discussion

Vault General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,329
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 11 of 22 (202 Views)

Re: 2013 - Vault browser in Inventor

06-13-2012 01:04 PM in reply to: Dan.M

Dan,

Find in Browser works here with either model or vault browser active.

 

Here is a video clip from Inventor 2011 and Vault 2012.  I changed to part component then selected a part that is buried down inside a sub, then selected "find in Browser" (sorry that it is out of the window).

 

http://screencast.com/t/fcq65PEP3

 

I would ask what version you are using, but as far as I know, it has worked this way for a long time.

Employee
Senthil-Autodesk
Posts: 594
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 12 of 22 (191 Views)

Re: 2013 - Vault browser in Inventor

06-14-2012 12:17 AM in reply to: karthur1

Dan,

 

I verified that Find in Browser works in 2013 when we are Vault browser inside Inventor.



Senthil Kumar
Vault QA Team
Autodesk, Inc.


Be sure to check out the Vault Help!
*Expert Elite*
Dan.M
Posts: 618
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Message 13 of 22 (180 Views)

Re: 2013 - Vault browser in Inventor

06-15-2012 07:28 AM in reply to: Senthil-Autodesk

OK, My turn with the video now :

http://screencast.com/t/LbxkVzi4Ue0J

What do you think? i have installed Update 1 for Inventor 2013 today

 

Dan

*Expert Elite*
Dan.M
Posts: 618
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Message 14 of 22 (178 Views)

Re: 2013 - Vault browser in Inventor

06-15-2012 07:31 AM in reply to: Senthil-Autodesk

What you see in my video is what always happened. 

It is happening on other computes  also. 

I was suprised that you two says this is not as design.

 

Dan

*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,329
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 15 of 22 (171 Views)

Re: 2013 - Vault browser in Inventor

06-15-2012 08:24 AM in reply to: Dan.M

Dan,

Right at the very end of the video, you select the part in the graphics window and then you select "Find in browser".  You have the vault browser displayed and it goes to that part in the vault browser.

 

All that looks right.... Maybe I dont understand your problem.

 

When you do a video capture, try to reduce the window size.  It looks like your monitor is like HUGE and its difficult to see everything thats going on on my small monitor.  Wish Jing would allow us to scale/zoom the view window, but we cant.  Just saying.

*Expert Elite*
Dan.M
Posts: 618
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Message 16 of 22 (163 Views)

Re: 2013 - Vault browser in Inventor

06-15-2012 10:30 AM in reply to: karthur1

I will upload again a smaller movie window. On my Inv Find in Browser jumps to assembly panel and I have to toggle back to Vault panel to see the status. In your movie Find in Browser jumps in the Vault browser only. 

http://screencast.com/t/79gE2DiTf

 

Thanks

Dan

*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,329
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 17 of 22 (160 Views)

Re: 2013 - Vault browser in Inventor

06-15-2012 12:22 PM in reply to: Dan.M

oh yes, see that now. (vid is much easier to view, btw).  I would try a repair install on both Inventor and vault client.

 

Other than that, I dont know why the browser would jump back and forth like that.  That has to be frustrating.

*Expert Elite*
Dan.M
Posts: 618
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Message 18 of 22 (153 Views)

Re: 2013 - Vault browser in Inventor

06-17-2012 02:27 AM in reply to: karthur1

it has always jumped for me like that. I saw in other computers also jumps.

Thats why I asked for the vault icons to be in the assy panel.

It drives me crazy to look for it twice.

 

Dan

Employee
Senthil-Autodesk
Posts: 594
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 19 of 22 (138 Views)

Re: 2013 - Vault browser in Inventor

06-18-2012 11:21 PM in reply to: karthur1

Dan,

 

I think I found the issue you are mentioning. Refer the following image.

FINB.png

 

 

When you are in Vault Browser  "Find in Browser" command appears Both in marking menu as well as in the Context Menu

 

Selecting the command from Context Menu always goes to Vault Browser. Selecting the command from Marking Menu goes to Assembly Browser.

 

But I see that the command is not available in the Context Menu in the Model Browser. Only available in the Marking Menu. This is different from 2012 release. In Inventor 2012, the command is available only in context menu and they behave correctly as per the Browser ( Model/Vault). I am checking about this change.

 

Hope the above helps.



Senthil Kumar
Vault QA Team
Autodesk, Inc.


Be sure to check out the Vault Help!
*Expert Elite*
Dan.M
Posts: 618
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Message 20 of 22 (125 Views)

Re: 2013 - Vault browser in Inventor

06-19-2012 11:10 AM in reply to: Senthil-Autodesk

Good, it's a bug. It means it can be fixed and it is not "as designed".

Tell Vault team over there i want compensetion for the frustation caused day by day :smileyhappy: 

 

Thanks

Dan

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
New button for Platinum & Gold Subscription customers
Gold & Platinum Subscription customers can alert Autodesk if they require assistance with their forum post

Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.