Vault General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
TomRev
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎09-02-2010
Message 1 of 4 (1,338 Views)
Accepted Solution

1603 Error

1338 Views, 3 Replies
12-15-2011 08:45 AM

I have looked at the discussion board and it seems that most who are getting this error are getting it in regards to an SQL problem.  I have attached the log file from the install and my problem exists in the C++ area.  I am trying to install Vault Pro 2012 Client on a users machine.  It starts the install, quits and says everything failed.  I am at a loss.  I have logged in as the local admin on the machine.  I tried 3 times to get it to run and nothing.  Same thing everytime.  Any thoughts or help would be appreciated.

 

Thanks,

 

Tommy

 

Andy,

I found a fix for the problem.  I ran your solution and I still received an error that it could not run the C++.  When I ran it straight from the disk it said a newer version was already installed on the machine.  I uninstalled the newer version and was then able to install the vault.  I had just installed Codeware Compress on the machine and that updated the C++ to a newer version than what was on the Vault disk.  I have attached a jpeg of the error that I received.

 

Thanks,

 

Tommy

 

Product Support
Andy.Spivey
Posts: 361
Registered: ‎08-12-2010
Message 2 of 4 (1,328 Views)

Re: 1603 Error

12-15-2011 10:16 AM in reply to: TomRev

Hey Tommy,

 

The 1603 is a generic MS error number.  From the log file, there is an issue installing the C++ Redistributable.

 

What happens if you run the MS installer directly from D:\3rdParty\x86\VCRedist\2010\vcredist_x86.exe?

Is there anything specific listed in the installer log file for this component at  C:\DOCUME~1\ADMINI~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\vcredist_x86_2010.log ?

 

 



Andy Spivey
Data Management Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Active Contributor
TomRev
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎09-02-2010
Message 3 of 4 (1,323 Views)

Re: 1603 Error

12-15-2011 12:13 PM in reply to: TomRev

Thanks for the info Andy.  I will check it out and let you know.

 

Regards,

 

Tommy

 

Active Contributor
TomRev
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎09-02-2010
Message 4 of 4 (1,300 Views)

Re: 1603 Error

12-19-2011 01:57 PM in reply to: TomRev

Andy,

I found a fix for the problem.  I ran your solution and I still received an error that it could not run the C++.  When I ran it straight from the disk it said a newer version was already installed on the machine.  I uninstalled the newer version and was then able to install the vault.  I had just installed Codeware Compress on the machine and that updated the C++ to a newer version than what was on the Vault disk.  I have attached a jpeg of the error that I received.

 

Thanks,

 

Tommy

 

Announcements
New button for Platinum & Gold Subscription customers
Gold & Platinum Subscription customers can alert Autodesk if they require assistance with their forum post

Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.