Community
Vault Customization
Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Vault API, Data Standard, and VBA topics related to programming, creating add-ins, or working with the Vault API.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Vault 2015 R2 and Power Shell, DataStrandard

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
Denis99
858 Views, 2 Replies

Vault 2015 R2 and Power Shell, DataStrandard

Hello,

Im a beginner in the Vault customization with PowerShell. I must modify a little bit the Data Standard and I have a little problem with powerShell, When I open a .ps1 file for example the "Default.ps1", I will Test the function "GetNumSchms" but it doesn't works....What Must I do...?

Fail.png

Thank you very much!

Best regards.

2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
marco.mirandola
in reply to: Denis99

hi Denis, and welcome to Data Standard 😉

PowerShell executes so called Command-Lets, such as Set-Location for changing your current folder location, and the like. The scripts gets read from top to bottom. All the functions defined in the script gets first "acquired" and later executed if someone calls them.

Now, you call a function, such as the GetNumSchms but this function never has been "acquired" by the script engine, as the script never run. In order to do that, just select the complete function and on the context menu execute "Run selection". this way, the selected script will be executed. As the selection is a function, it will be only read into the memory. Now you can call your function from the command line.

You will notice that the function will throw an exception. The reason is that in that function you try to connect to Vault. the variable $vault should contain a connection to Vault. If the script is executed from within the context of Vault, or Inventor/AutoCAD, then the $vault is set, and also some other variables.