Vault Customization

Vault Customization

Reply
Valued Mentor
tmccar
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎11-28-2007
Message 1 of 10 (340 Views)

Load database table into Vault

340 Views, 9 Replies
09-12-2011 04:23 PM

I am trying to figure out how to upload an SQL database to Vault (or tables from the database). I have one table with 117,000 fields  - each record is related to a drawing. I know that you can create user-defined properties and have them display as columns in Vault Explorer. I would love to be able to upload the complete table into Vault so that it's viewable in the Explorer.

     Does anyone have a solution for this?

Employee
Redmond.D
Posts: 814
Registered: ‎12-12-2006
Message 2 of 10 (329 Views)

Re: Load database table into Vault

09-13-2011 04:32 AM in reply to: tmccar

Sorry but the Vault database is not something you can customize.  Both the Autodesk Developer Network and Autodesk Support will provide NO ASSISTANCE to an install with a modified database. 
For more information, you can see the "Database Editing" page in the SDK documentation.

 

The best way to do what you want is to create a user-defined property.  Next write a progam to read your table and set the UDP values for each file.

 

 



Doug Redmond
Software Engineer
Autodesk, Inc.
http://justonesandzeros.typepad.com/

Valued Mentor
tmccar
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎11-28-2007
Message 3 of 10 (326 Views)

Re: Load database table into Vault

09-13-2011 08:22 AM in reply to: Redmond.D

That's exactly what I want to do - I have no intention of modifying  the Vault database. I want to be able to look up a historical database of drawing numbers containing customer information and various other drawing data..

Valued Mentor
tmccar
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎11-28-2007
Message 4 of 10 (319 Views)

Re: Load database table into Vault

09-13-2011 01:23 PM in reply to: Redmond.D

In that case, what about "Bulk Processor 2011" - is this a native Autodesk enhancement to Vault 2012 Pro?

Employee
Redmond.D
Posts: 814
Registered: ‎12-12-2006
Message 5 of 10 (305 Views)

Re: Load database table into Vault

09-14-2011 04:26 AM in reply to: tmccar

I'm not sure what "Bulk Processor" tool you are referring to.  I know that Autodesk Consulting has a tool for property import and coolOrange has a product called dataLoader. 

Vault 2012 does not have built-in capabilites to do a bulk import of file properties. 



Doug Redmond
Software Engineer
Autodesk, Inc.
http://justonesandzeros.typepad.com/

Valued Mentor
tmccar
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎11-28-2007
Message 6 of 10 (295 Views)

Re: Load database table into Vault

09-15-2011 01:50 AM in reply to: Redmond.D

How is it that CoolOrange have such a tool - if such modification is prohibited by Autodesk?

Employee
Redmond.D
Posts: 814
Registered: ‎12-12-2006
Message 7 of 10 (291 Views)

Re: Load database table into Vault

09-15-2011 05:05 AM in reply to: tmccar

They do it by setting UDP properties through the API.



Doug Redmond
Software Engineer
Autodesk, Inc.
http://justonesandzeros.typepad.com/

Valued Mentor
tmccar
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎11-28-2007
Message 8 of 10 (289 Views)

Re: Load database table into Vault

09-15-2011 05:07 AM in reply to: Redmond.D

Ok - so this is allowable? Sorry, I thought this was also modifying the database.

Employee
Redmond.D
Posts: 814
Registered: ‎12-12-2006
Message 9 of 10 (285 Views)

Re: Load database table into Vault

09-15-2011 05:36 AM in reply to: tmccar

Sorry.  I should be more specific.  The Vault database cannot be modified directly.  And by directly, I mean opening up a direct connection to SQL Server and performing queries or operations.

 

If you make a call through our published API and that call ends up modifying the database, then that is OK.  If we didn't want you to do something, we wouldn't have put it in the SDK.

The "Database Editing" page in the SDK documentation goes into more details.

 

Here is an example of good code:

   DocumentService.UpdateFileProperties(...)

 

Here is an example of bad code:

  INSERT INTO VaultProperties (name, value) VALUES ('Author', 'Doug')

 

 

 

 

 



Doug Redmond
Software Engineer
Autodesk, Inc.
http://justonesandzeros.typepad.com/

Valued Mentor
tmccar
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎11-28-2007
Message 10 of 10 (282 Views)

Re: Load database table into Vault

09-15-2011 05:48 AM in reply to: Redmond.D

OK, thanks for the explanation

 

Tom

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.