Topobase

Topobase

Reply
Member
DiaconuI
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2010
Message 1 of 5 (847 Views)

Topobase: setting user access permissions at the features level

847 Views, 4 Replies
01-08-2010 05:45 AM
Is there someone who has some experience on setting the user group access permissions at the feature classes level (select; insert; update; delete) ?
Contributor
Shatohin
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-19-2009
Message 2 of 5 (847 Views)

Re: Topobase: setting user access permissions at the features level

02-16-2010 06:45 AM in reply to: DiaconuI
If you use TB 2010 you can do this with TB Admin (Setup >> Security Administarator)
Contributor
tmgovind
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-03-2010
Message 3 of 5 (801 Views)

Re: Topobase: setting user access permissions at the features level

07-03-2010 11:23 AM in reply to: Shatohin

Hi

 

I am new to Topobase. I have installed TB client 2011 64 bit version on Win 7.

I need clarification on how rights (Create,Delete, Update), Users and roles are related in TB.

 

I  logged in as TBSYS in TB administrator and created a workspace and a Water document using the in built template. Later i created a user group CWEDITORS i.e CleanWater Editors and assigned the workspace that i created earlier to this usergroup.

 

Then i created a user, say U1, and assigned it to CWEDITORS. In Security Administrator i created a ROLE for which a password was also assigned and using the GUI i assigned the CRUD previliges to this role.

 

1) What i actually wanted was to assign the roles (created using TB Security administrator) to either the user groups or users.(Is this possible) ? It is not clear how to do this as the roles are defined at oracle level and my understanding is that the users are created at application level (i.e users like TOPOBASE, U1)

 

2) What is a guest document? Can someone explain more clearly?

 

Regards

 

Govind

 

Contributor
tmgovind
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-03-2010
Message 4 of 5 (780 Views)

Re: Topobase: setting user access permissions at the features level

07-07-2010 11:54 PM in reply to: Shatohin

Hi

 

Thanks for ur response. As i had mentioned earlier i am using 2011

 

In the Security Administrator i didnt see any provision to Assign the roles to a Group or user.

 

Am i missing something?

Regards

Govind

Contributor
Shatohin
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-19-2009
Message 5 of 5 (753 Views)

Re: Topobase: setting user access permissions at the features level

07-20-2010 12:52 AM in reply to: tmgovind

Hi Govind,

 

You should create a new workspace and add a guest document there. After that you will be able to configure user rights at workspace level.

 

BR

Alexander Shatohin

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.