Topobase

Reply
Active Member
b.banzer
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-04-2011
Message 1 of 5 (1,931 Views)
Accepted Solution

Restrict access on commands for user groupes on specific feature classes

1931 Views, 4 Replies
04-16-2012 01:31 AM

Hi,

 

I am creating an industry model in which I have several feature classes and different user groups.

 

For security reasons, some user groupes should get read only access on some objects but full access on some others.

 

In the user interface, I can remove the function "New Record" for example for a user group, but that means that it is not available in all the forms.

 

Does anyone have an idea how I could solve that problem?

 

Thanks in advance.

Hi Bob,

 

you can create different toolbars and then assign a specific toolbar to a form. It's is a bit confusing and I'm not sure whether I have fully understood the idea behind it or not. Because I haven't used it yet but just checked how it works in general I cannot gurantee it's 100% correct.

 

I do not have the english version at hand - so the terms I'm refering to might be bit different in the application itself.

 

1. open a workspace/project

2. expand the document node and look for "user interface" node

3. switch to the Forms tab

4. select the user group you want to assign the new toolbar to

5. create a new entry and disable "new record"

 

6. select the Form-Designer node and select the feature class

7. copy the existing form

8. open the copied form

9. open the form options (in menu "Designer")

10. assign the newly created toolbar to the form

 

11. close form

12. assign form to group

 

Rob

Mentor
Robert_Fritz
Posts: 169
Registered: ‎12-08-2011
Message 2 of 5 (1,928 Views)

Re: Restrict access on commands for user groupes on specific feature classes

04-17-2012 06:05 AM in reply to: b.banzer

Hi,

 

in this case - why don't you create a separate form for each user group?

 

Rob

http://raumpatrouille3d.blogspot.ch/
Active Member
b.banzer
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-04-2011
Message 3 of 5 (1,923 Views)

Re: Restrict access on commands for user groupes on specific feature classes

04-17-2012 06:45 AM in reply to: Robert_Fritz

 


ro_fr wrote:

Hi,

 

in this case - why don't you create a separate form for each user group?

 

Rob


Hi Rob,

 

that was initially my plan, but I can't figure out, how I can disable for example the "new record" function in one form but not the other.

 

Bob


 

Mentor
Robert_Fritz
Posts: 169
Registered: ‎12-08-2011
Message 4 of 5 (1,921 Views)

Re: Restrict access on commands for user groupes on specific feature classes

04-17-2012 07:07 AM in reply to: b.banzer

Hi Bob,

 

you can create different toolbars and then assign a specific toolbar to a form. It's is a bit confusing and I'm not sure whether I have fully understood the idea behind it or not. Because I haven't used it yet but just checked how it works in general I cannot gurantee it's 100% correct.

 

I do not have the english version at hand - so the terms I'm refering to might be bit different in the application itself.

 

1. open a workspace/project

2. expand the document node and look for "user interface" node

3. switch to the Forms tab

4. select the user group you want to assign the new toolbar to

5. create a new entry and disable "new record"

 

6. select the Form-Designer node and select the feature class

7. copy the existing form

8. open the copied form

9. open the form options (in menu "Designer")

10. assign the newly created toolbar to the form

 

11. close form

12. assign form to group

 

Rob

http://raumpatrouille3d.blogspot.ch/
Active Member
b.banzer
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-04-2011
Message 5 of 5 (1,915 Views)

Re: Restrict access on commands for user groupes on specific feature classes

04-17-2012 11:30 PM in reply to: Robert_Fritz
Hi Rob, thanks a lot! I just tried it and in the MAP client it works like a charm. You saved my project. Bob
Announcements
Autodesk Alert | We are currently working on restoring Previous Version License request access in the Autodesk Subscription Center. If you are a subscription customer and would like to request a Previous Version License, please use this link as a temporary workaround. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.