The Break Room (Non-Technical Discussions)
Non-technical discussions will be held here to give community members a chance to connect and get to know one another.

The Break Room (Non-Technical Discussions)

Reply
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,495
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 11 of 19 (783 Views)

Re: New Autodesk Pricing/Suite Content

01-23-2013 12:21 PM in reply to: cbenner

That actually might not be possible from a licensing standpoint.  Consider, how does a suite license know which products it will work with?  If they come from different development silos there may be logistical barriers to getting that suite license to recognize all the projects you are picking (some products may not be suite-licenseable).  Can't list them separately either - the suite licenses are not a 1+1 scheme.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,902
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 12 of 19 (761 Views)

Re: New Autodesk Pricing/Suite Content

01-24-2013 05:04 AM in reply to: Wanderer-MOTD

Wouldn't that be the same as buying each software independently? Or is this more of a "I want a price break if I buy more than one" type of argument? You can only buy what you need, always have, still can. price hike or not.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
Wanderer-MOTD
Posts: 208
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 13 of 19 (751 Views)

Re: New Autodesk Pricing/Suite Content

01-24-2013 09:30 AM in reply to: pendean

Oh, no argument there, Dean. :smileywink: I am free to buy Revit MEP and AutoCAD MEP by themselves, rather than taking being shifted into the Design Suite Premium.

 

Of course, as long as I'm no longer being offered the package I had (MEP Suite), I'd rather pout about the new package not adding as much to MY tasks as they would to someone in a different branch of our industry. I'll make use of, to a small extent, the products that came with it, but, they're not as useful as some of what I'd request in a bundle.

Melanie Perry
***not all those who wander are lost***
http://AUGI.com/Surveys
http://MistressOfTheDorkness.blogspot.com

My defunct profiles:
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/user/viewprofilepage/user-id/651859
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/user/viewprofilepage/user-id/644095
*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,305
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 14 of 19 (745 Views)

Re: New Autodesk Pricing/Suite Content

01-24-2013 12:16 PM in reply to: pendean

I think it's a price break sort of thing.  It's the same as with the cable companies.  They have access to the satellites with all of the stations, but they bundle them as they see fit.  We have to choose a bundle and get whatever channels they say.  I like the idea of Suites from a pricing standpoint.  The individual packages would be MUCH more expensve as standalones. 

 

But, yes, I agree.  It's a choice and always has been.  But a little more flexibilty wouldn't hurt my feelings.  That's all I'm saying.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

New Member
bobbi.thompson
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-24-2013
Message 15 of 19 (734 Views)

Re: New Autodesk Pricing/Suite Content

01-24-2013 03:58 PM in reply to: dgorsman

If you can't see the value in the suites, then you have a chance to opt out. Contact your reseller if you haven't received the email about that. I believe it is only possible through February 22nd.

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,902
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 16 of 19 (723 Views)

Re: New Autodesk Pricing/Suite Content

01-25-2013 05:43 AM in reply to: bobbi.thompson

If there is truly an opt out option, take it: bundles are terrible, whether from Autodesk or other sources. They just set you up to pay more later (the stick that is behind the carrot you bit into).

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Contributor
autocad.phil
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎01-22-2010
Message 17 of 19 (568 Views)

Re: New Autodesk Pricing/Suite Content

02-10-2013 07:51 PM in reply to: LiseGarner2808

I sure hope Mudbox is like totally free in this Autodesk PDS package.  1/2 :smileyhappy:

--
Autodesk Product Design Suite Standard 2014 with subscription to 2016 | AutoCAD WS | was ACLT 2000, ACLT 2010, PRDSS 2013 and others
Distinguished Contributor
GilesPhillips
Posts: 495
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 18 of 19 (562 Views)

Re: New Autodesk Pricing/Suite Content

02-11-2013 03:37 AM in reply to: pendean

I'm quite glad i didn't go down the suite road when my reseller offered it at their 'introductory' price. I just hope that Autodesk don't decide to start culling products that aren't sold as suites..

 

G

ACad, MEP, 3DS Max
Windows 7x64
X5482 @3.2Ghz 8Gb Ram
Quadro FX1700
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,854
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 19 of 19 (485 Views)

Re: New Autodesk Pricing/Suite Content

02-19-2013 04:40 AM in reply to: GilesPhillips

I resisted the offer last year to upgrade to a Civil 3D suite as the annual subscription is more and I don't really need all the bundled suite software. As long as Civil 3D can continue to be purchased "standalone" that's fine for me

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.