Community
The Community Room
The Community Room is a space to have conversations about anything you’d like to discuss with your fellow Engineers, Architects, Designers and basically all community members in here.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Any Model railroaders out there?

35 REPLIES 35
Message 1 of 36
Joe-Bouza
1354 Views, 35 Replies

Any Model railroaders out there?

I'm just getting started on a 4x8. Its been a long time and I am very excited to get scenery going

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People)

HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram

Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win10 OS
35 REPLIES 35
Message 21 of 36
Joe-Bouza
in reply to: jmola

Hi jmola

Space! thats thats a great thing you came upon. Thanks for the heads up. I've been reading on that very condition and will plan to have sidings at either end.

One thing bumming me out - on a 4x8 ther is enough room for landsacping and a passing siing on the out side? I hat 18" rads and want to add a passing wiit 22" 😕 and that leaves a sliver on the outside. How did you deal with that?

I enjoy seeing your layout?

Thank you

HP Z210 Workstation
12 GB Ram

64 Bit Win10 OS
Message 22 of 36
dgorsman
in reply to: troma

Its not unusual for the production company to do most of the work on the computer, then they use a 3D printer to create an initial oversized positive which is detailed and finished by hand.  That gets used to create the mold for the finished product.  Direct 3D printing the finished product doesn't work so well, as the low-cost material doesn't hold up and the high-cost durable material won't print the fine details very well.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
"I don't know" is the beginning of knowledge, not the end.

Message 23 of 36
loboarch

@troma wrote: