Reply
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: Where is the export body to stl command in the new 360Fusion?

07-20-2013 02:15 PM in reply to: schneik

Thanks,

 

I managed to stich and export to stl, slicing model now, after scaling it down.

 

One question, the smoothed object, I dont see the option now, is that effectively gone?

 

Just curious.

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: Where is the export body to stl command in the new 360Fusion?

07-20-2013 02:30 PM in reply to: big_red_frog

at the risk of this becoming a long conversation, if I spilt the final solid in two so I can print in two halves and avoid support implications, then how do I ensure that the split parts are themselves solids, I used modify, split body, with a plane I had created veritcally through the model front to back, but my two new bodies dont look like solids, with a flat face where split, rather they look like shells again...

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: Where is the export body to stl command in the new 360Fusion?

07-20-2013 04:38 PM in reply to: big_red_frog

OK, worked out how to add a face easily to teh half split of the model.

 

In Patch mode.

 

Create / Patch, then selected the edge of the cut model for the boundary, and hey presto!

 

Now trying to move teh origin for the STL export to be on the flat face where cut and on a corner of the model so it doesnt import the STL miles away in makerware, and will also sit on the platform with a single click...

 

cant seem to move any origins relative to the bodies, or get the bodies to snap to the origins.

 

Assuming I am missing the obvious...

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: Where is the export body to stl command in the new 360Fusion?

07-20-2013 04:43 PM in reply to: big_red_frog

OK, my half cut stl seems to have a centered origin on the right face by default, its just massive, needs a lot of scaling to get onto the plate, I , I need to work out the right sizing now...

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: Where is the export body to stl command in the new 360Fusion?

07-21-2013 10:11 AM in reply to: big_red_frog

Here is the right half printed.

 

This is 12 cm's front to back.

Please use plain text.
Community Manager
jessica.t
Posts: 1,996
Registered: ‎02-28-2012

Re: Where is the export body to stl command in the new 360Fusion?

07-21-2013 12:16 PM in reply to: big_red_frog

Hi Anthony,

 

It sounds like you're trying to get your split body to snap to origin, is that correct? Here's a video to help you out!

 

Let us know if there is anything else we can do to assist!

 



Jessica Thrasher
Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: Where is the export body to stl command in the new 360Fusion?

07-22-2013 08:52 PM in reply to: jessica.t

Thanks Jessica,

 

In that video, it looks like you are creating a sketch anchored on the origin, then a joint on the component, then snapping the joint to the sketch.

 

This implies to me that snap component to origin, or move origin to snap on component, are not supported workflows ( at this time )

 

I just want to be sure I understand what was done there, and if this is considered a work around.

 

Is that the case?

 

Thanks.

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: Where is the export body to stl command in the new 360Fusion?

07-29-2013 09:03 PM in reply to: big_red_frog

Hi There,

 

Further question, when I stitch these together I get the unclosed object icon, and although I can export as STL, I cant solid model further.

 

I want to be able to slice and dice, union and subtract with other bodies etc.

 

I have tried relentlessly to work out how to close the object and get a real solid out of it.

 

Could you describe the expected workflow, then I can try further?

 

Thanks.

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: Where is the export body to stl command in the new 360Fusion?

07-29-2013 09:13 PM in reply to: big_red_frog

OK, solved it, by increasing the stitch Tolerance value to 1mm, I get a solid body that I can manipulate with union etc.

 

Thanks.

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: Where is the export body to stl command in the new 360Fusion?

08-10-2013 11:07 AM in reply to: big_red_frog
Please use plain text.