Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shelling part of a solid body and leaving another part solid

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
mflail86
2396 Views, 10 Replies

Shelling part of a solid body and leaving another part solid

Hi all,

I am fairly new to fusion 360 and cannot figure out how to make a part of my model solid and the handle of the body shelled.  If anybody knows how to accomplish this or if it is even possible please let me know.  The part is split where the highlighted plane is and right now is completely shelled. Ideally I want the front to be solid and the back 3/4 to be shelled to hold liquid.

Thanks,

Matthew

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
Oceanconcepts
in reply to: mflail86

Well, one approach to try would be to utilize Fusion's amazing Boolean tools. Split the body before shelling, shell the end you want to, then Combine them back together. I've done similar things and had it work well. Another path might be to split the shell and fill the lower part to solid using a sliced off copy of that part of the pre-shelled body. At least in direct modeling, I've learned not to be afraid to split and rejoin elements if I need to treat them differently. The result is nearly always seamless.

- Ron

Mostly Mac- currently M1 MacBook Pro

Message 3 of 11
mflail86
in reply to: Oceanconcepts

Great, thanks Ron. Splitting the body prior to shelling worked but only when I shelled both ways so I now have a disjointed body.  Is there a way to combine and make the bodies equally proportionate to one another? Or blend the two bodies to make a smoother transition? I tried using the thicken tool to no avail and offset the smaller body but it still gives a disjointed appearance in certain places.

-Matt