Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Noob question about bodies versus t-splines

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
codefoster
427 Views, 4 Replies

Noob question about bodies versus t-splines

Sorry for the noob question, but I'm just starting to learn Fusion 360. I've seen a lot of videos and run through a few tutorials, but for whatever reason still don't know the answer this this conceptual question.

When would I choose to edit bodies versus edit t-splines? What's the difference? Is it easy/common to jump between the two modelling methods? What if I wanted to model a screwdriver handle. Should I start with a cylindrical body or with a cylindrical t-spline? If I already have a body that is roughly cylindrical in shape and want to expand or contract its diameter in certain places, is that possible, or does that body have to be converted to a t-spline?

Thanks in advance.

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
carl_bass
in reply to: codefoster

Most screwdrivers you could easily model without t-splines. For really fancy sculptural ones you could use t-splines, but mostly they wouldn't be needed

Here's a model of the screwdriver sitting on my desk. It consists of two components -- one for the shaft and one for the handle all modeled with extrudes, revolves, patterns and fillets

screwdriver.PNG

Message 3 of 5
codefoster

Thank you. Can any given component be only bodies or only t-splines or can a component be made up of both?
Message 4 of 5
carl_bass

The general rule of thumb is to think of components as real world parts in the thing you're designing. Bodies are usually used as intermediate tools for modelling. There's a decent video here. You can find it by searching fusion help for "bodies"

zz.PNG