Reply
Member
dthomasson
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-01-2013
Accepted Solution

How to export to STL

1848 Views, 18 Replies
04-01-2013 05:01 PM

Is it possible to export a body or component to STL?

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: How to export to STL

04-01-2013 05:18 PM in reply to: dthomasson

+1 on that question.

 

Managed a basic edit on an existing .dwg that I managed to import into a project.

 

Took a while as the behaviour of extrusion is different in sculpt to model, and I hadnt noticed I was in sculpt.

 

Next step, export to STL and check orientation ( which I believe is different in 360 than the same model in inventor fusion ) and realise I have no idea where the stl export option is...

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: How to export to STL

04-01-2013 05:29 PM in reply to: big_red_frog

OK, found it, to the right of the Fusion 360 banner, where it lists the hierachy of Project > Project Name > Filename | Design, when you are in the object editor, there is a small drop down arrow.

 

Click on this, and there is an export option, which has an .stl option for the file name on export.

 

What I havent worked out yet, is how to lock down which objects get exported, in my simple test, I got the lid of the box which was hidden, instead of the base of the box I was expecting.

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: How to export to STL

04-01-2013 05:36 PM in reply to: big_red_frog

OK, will need help with this one.

 

I have moved the elements of the part I wanted into its own component and made it the active component, but whatever I do, when I go export as .stl, I just get the lid of my box ( which is a hidden component ), and not the body of the box.

 

How do you specificy which elements will be exported into an .stl file?

Please use plain text.
Member
dthomasson
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-01-2013

Re: How to export to STL

04-01-2013 05:46 PM in reply to: big_red_frog

Thanks for finding the Export feature.

The only way I can find to export a single component is to right-click > Save Copy As, then export from that model.

Not sure why part of your model isn't exporting though.

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: How to export to STL

04-01-2013 09:01 PM in reply to: dthomasson

Tried another project from scratch, all modelled within fusion 360.

 

I have multiple components, and only want to export those parts I want printed, not the parts that are modelled to aid design, and I get the wrong and consistantly same component exported, no matter how I seem to select.

 

Will try the trick of creating a new seperate file, but would really want to understand how to constrain what gets exported.

 

Thanks.

Please use plain text.
Employee
garin
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎11-13-2006

Re: How to export to STL

04-02-2013 07:27 AM in reply to: big_red_frog

With the current build you will need to export as a new design to get a specific component to export as an STL. We are working on adding just what you described by selecting a component and exporting that specific component. We should have this available in our next update of Fusion 360. 

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: How to export to STL

04-02-2013 08:46 AM in reply to: garin

I managed to get some export working, by saving out the components, but the issue remains, that even with an exported component, that I cannot predict which parts of that component get exported, so in last nights efforts, I could not get a complete part exported in .stl, at least for the one case, I had one complex part exported and printed fine, but the other was not exported with all the parts.

 

I look forward to rework in this area, its desperately needed. Hoping that multiple selections of components would export them all at the time.

 

Meanwhile, I will continue to explore the workflow work arounds.

Please use plain text.
Employee
deyop
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎04-24-2006

Re: How to export to STL

04-02-2013 09:15 AM in reply to: big_red_frog
We are working on STL export improvement currently and they should be available with the next update. Currently you will not get an STL export if the body is a TSpline. It needs to be a solid body. The update we are working on would provide a preview of the selected component content to determine if the tessellation is satisfactory and if not provides common options to improve. There is also an option that would allow you to export the entire content of the component as a single STL or to create a seperate STL for each solid body in the component. From what you have described though it sounds like you would prefer to export each solid body separately?
Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
big_red_frog
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: How to export to STL

04-02-2013 12:26 PM in reply to: deyop

Rather than exporting each element seperately, I just want to be confident that I can reliably select 1 or more components and export them predictably.

 

Having to fight with the tool to get the export I want right now, even if I break out and do a save as new component and then export from there, I am not getting any predictability or any form of WYSIWYG.

 

So a workflow where whatever I have selected compoundly with shift key depressed, or as another method, all solids that are visible, rather than hidden, are exported in the save as .stl

Please use plain text.