Reply
New Member
ggnewton
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-20-2013

Export as Solid?

148 Views, 4 Replies
02-04-2014 08:40 PM

Hi All,

 

Has anyone had any luck exporting a solid as a solid?  Igs supports solids, but Fusion360 seems to export solids as surfaces when exporting as .igs or as .step.  Am I just not seeing an export options box?

 

In the end, I'm trying to get my solid into Solidworks.  Any insight?

 

Regards,

Greg

 

 

Please use plain text.
Employee
karyeka
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎12-10-2006

Re: Export as Solid?

02-05-2014 12:59 AM in reply to: ggnewton

Hi Greg,

 

I exported one of my designs (with a solid) into iges and imported it back into Fusion. The solid came up properly. I'm not able to see your issue. Can you please forward or share your model for us to dig into it further?

 

Thanks,

Anand

Fusion360 Development

 

 

Please use plain text.
New Member
ggnewton
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-20-2013

Re: Export as Solid?

02-08-2014 10:15 PM in reply to: karyeka

Hi Anand,

 

Thank you for your reply and sorry for my delay.  Had a meltdown with a Windows8 update that bricked my machine for a few days.

 

My issue is that when I export as .iges and read into solidworks, it's only seen as surfaces, not as a solid.

 

 

What's the best way to fwd my file to you?

 

Regards,

Greg

Please use plain text.
Employee
karyeka
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎12-10-2006

Re: Export as Solid?

02-10-2014 05:54 AM in reply to: ggnewton

Hi Greg,

 

sorry to hear about OS meltdown, that sucks!

 

You can either attach a file here, send it to me privately at anand.karyekar@autodesk.com or invite me to your project online (top right corner has "invite" on the project page of the dashboard) . The data set will help us to dig further.

 

Thanks,

Anand

Fusion360 Development

Please use plain text.
Employee
karyeka
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎12-10-2006

Re: Export as Solid?

02-11-2014 02:47 AM in reply to: karyeka

Hi Greg,

 

Thanks for inviting me to your project. That worked fine.

I did export "Design 2013December28 23:34:33pm." to igs (as you can see from the translation report) and then was able to import it fine (as solid) back in Fusion. I don’t have SW handy but it came fine in Inventor as well. I will ask others in the team to try to import this exported model in SW.

 

Regards,

Anand

Fusion360 Development

Please use plain text.