Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connect spline and offset?

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
cjmason
2201 Views, 3 Replies

Connect spline and offset?

Hi, 

I'm new to Fusion 360 and trying to record my struggles in the hope it would be useful.  I know that some of this is probably obvious to others more experienced users of the software, but I think one of the biggest challenges I have as a software developer myself is getting myself to think like a naive user.

I'm trying to do what I thought would be simple: create a vase shape from a spline.  There's probably some more straightforward way to do this, but my thought process was:

• Draw the outline of the vase as a open spline on a construction plane.
  • Offset this spline by the thickness of the vase wall.
  • Join the ends together to create a profile.
  • Revolve that profile to create a solid.

I can draw a closed loop spline (with "thickness") but then how do ensure symmetry (parallelism) between the inner and outer wall?

Here's a screenshot.  I was able to do the inner one by manually drawing a close spline, but the walls aren't parallel.  I had to trim the edges of the spline so that they did not overlap the axis I revolved around.

Screen Shot 2014-09-20 at 11.22.43 AM.png

Some things I've tried using the upper spline and offset:

• Revolving directly: won't let me select an open spline.  Makes sense, I guess.