Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2D Adaptive not clearing all material

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
Anonymous
3157 Views, 7 Replies

2D Adaptive not clearing all material

Hello all,

I am fairly new to Fusion 360, so maybe I'm trying to use adaptive clearing incorrectly, anyway...

See attached photos, when I am using the 2D Adaptive, it is not clearing all material as seen in the simulation, it is leaving a little material at the tip of the hook.  I have tried an 1/8" end mill, in addition to the 3/8" end mill the op is specified to use.  I am using two adaptive operations, one as a roughing with 0.02" stock to leave, and another finishing pass with no stock to leave, both leave the tip material.  Tolerance 0.004 and minimum radius is 0.  It appears to be using the lower line of the v-shaped relief as a stopping point.  User error or bug?  Any ideas on a work around?

I should add that yesterday I was having problems with it overcutting at the v-shaped recess by around 0.125".  When I selected the surface it was making a selection area larger than the contour, today it is staying in the bounds of the contour.  If I try selecting just the contour, not the surface, it gives me an empty toolpath error.

Thank you,

Phil

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
adsloud
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi Phil,

Thanks for letting us know. To make the problem clearer, can you please share your design with us? You can use the Export command to save the design as a .f3d file and then attach it here. Thank you for your support!

Export.png

Debbie Lou
Sr. QA Engineer for HSM CAM
Message 3 of 8
curtis.chan

Hello Phil,