Moldflow Insight Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Moldflow Insight Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Moldflow Insight topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simulated pressures far from reality

13 REPLIES 13
Message 1 of 14
PascalGosset
4237 Views, 13 Replies

Simulated pressures far from reality

I'm not a novice. I think since many years the pressure predicted are often false.

So I made a series of comparisons between simulated and real pressures.

I not only compared the pressures at switchover because they can change rapidly.

But I compared the pressures curves to see all their increasing during the filling.

For my simulations, I took into account :

- the part and its runners

- the material in the press nozzle

- the real molding settings

- the exact material used.

I found pressures far from reality except in one case.

The error comes always because of an underestimation of the pressure drop in the feedings.

See 8 samples below.

Then my questions are :

Do you also find big differences between simulated and real pressures ?

Are the errors due to the data of the material ?

Its compressibility ? Its juncture loss ? Something else ?

Find by simulations the real pressures encountered is it an utopia ?

Example1-4m.gif

Example5-8m.gif 

Signature: "Maybe Moldflow does not work properly, but the real world neither" my son...6 years old 😉

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
Anonymous
in reply to: PascalGosset

Hello Pascal,

you present very nice overview and indeed that's when discussion becomes interesting, I mean when people show real data and compare them with simulation.

may I ask you these quaestions:

- how did you measure these red lines showing real pressure? Is it the pressure sensor located on nozzle of injection molding machine or somewhere else to sense pressure of molten plastic material? Could you be more specific?