Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plate boundary conditions

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
499 Views, 5 Replies

Plate boundary conditions

Hello,

I'm new with the software and i'm having trouble with a plate which is the base of a machine. I don't know how to model the boundary conditions. The plate is freely supported on the floor (no DOF restrictions just -z).

As shown in the image, it is a baler machine and the plate connects the four vertical beams (traction) with the four horizontal "U"beams (compression).

Imagenconsultaforo.png

Any ideas to model the supports/constraint?

Thanks.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
sebastian.sosa
in reply to: Anonymous

Hello,

A couple of thoughts,
If you are running a static stress analysis then I think having just the Tz restriction on the bottom plate is not enough. You need a statically stable model in order to get meaningful results, so you shhould restrain, at minimum, translation in all directions for your model.
If your model is symmetric for both vertical planes, then you might want to take advantage of that and model just a forth of the entire model and use de cutted edges to apply symmetry boundary conditions and that way you will restrain the model for that "in plane" translation.
Finaly, you might want to check the TZ restraint you applyed. In your description you stated that the plate is prevented to move in the -Z direction, so does that implies that it is free to move in the +Z direction? If so, takinng into account that you have some loads applyed in the +z direction, restraining the TZ for that plate is not entirely accurate since it would prevent that plate to move in the +z direction. You might want to take a look of something like "gap elements"

Best regards

Message 3 of 6