Discussion Groups

Simulation Mechanical and Multiphysics

Reply
Contributor
gauravsuri
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-10-2011
Accepted Solution

Submitting Autodesk Simulation Mechanical jobs via command line

366 Views, 5 Replies
02-20-2012 11:04 AM

Hello,

Is is possible to submit jobs for Autodesk Simulation Mechanical (Algor) from the DOS command prompt?  I would like to solve my analysis ona remote computer. Thanks -Gaurav

Please use plain text.
Employee
S.LI
Posts: 398
Registered: ‎05-06-2010

Re: Submitting Autodesk Simulation Mechanical jobs via command line

02-21-2012 04:53 AM in reply to: gauravsuri

For remotely executing a processor, you may find more here:

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Autodesk_Simulation/enu/2012/Help/0058-General_58/0059-Introduc59/0060-...

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If this response answers your concern, please mark it as "solved".
Please use plain text.
Contributor
gauravsuri
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-10-2011

Re: Submitting Autodesk Simulation Mechanical jobs via command line

02-21-2012 06:59 AM in reply to: S.LI

Thanks, I tried that, but we have only one license for Simulation Mechanical. This approach does not work as it needs two licenses. Can I log into the remote computer and submit the job manually from the command line?

 

Thanks

Please use plain text.
Employee
INACTIVE_AstroJohn
Posts: 492
Registered: ‎03-25-2010

Re: Submitting Autodesk Simulation Mechanical jobs via command line

02-21-2012 03:35 PM in reply to: gauravsuri

Assuming that you have a network license, then you can install the software on your "remote" computer. At this point, you have a number of choices:

 

1) you can open the model in the interface and run it as normal.

2) you can schedule the analysis to begin at a later time and then exit from the interface. (This is similar to running from a command line, but it provides all of the features of viewing the log file during the analysis.)

3) you can run the analysis from a command line.

 

These last two methods are described on the page "Help > Autodesk Simulation > Setting Up and Performing the Analysis > Set Up Analyses Part 3 > Perform Analyses - Run Simulation". Note the section "Perform Analyses on Linux Operating System" and the paragraph

 

Otherwise, to run the analysis manually on a Linux machine, the following procedure needs to be followed: (The same manual procedure can be used on Windows, without needing to copy the files if the analysis is performed locally.)

 

P.S. If you reply, perhaps you can explain why you want to run the analysis "from a command line". You may have thought of something useful that could help other readers. Thanks.

 

Sincerely,
John Holtz, P.E.
Senior User Experience Designer, Simulation
Autodesk, Inc.

Current version of Mechanical & Multiphysics: 2013 SP1 (2013.01.00.0012 28-Jun-2012)
Please use plain text.
Contributor
gauravsuri
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-10-2011

Re: Submitting Autodesk Simulation Mechanical jobs via command line

02-23-2012 02:43 PM in reply to: INACTIVE_AstroJohn

Thanks John. I especially like the idea of scheduling a job for later execution.

 

The reason for doing this is that I have our IT department setting up a virtual machine for analysis purposes and I want to avoid having to go through a graphics interface (which is slower) over the network. Hence the desire to preprocess the model locally and then just submit the job on a remote machine. Would not have been an issue if we had multiple licenses, but we don't.

 

Thanks once again.

-Gaurav

Please use plain text.
Contributor
gauravsuri
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-10-2011

Re: Submitting Autodesk Simulation Mechanical jobs via command line

03-15-2012 06:24 AM in reply to: INACTIVE_AstroJohn

John

 

Regarding option 2) in your response, when I try to do a remote submission, the Schedule button becomes gray. I think the software does not support scheduled jobs for remote submission - can you please confirm?

 

Thanks

Please use plain text.