Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stress analysis of steel elements.

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
wrbst
744 Views, 1 Reply

Stress analysis of steel elements.

Hello mates,

I'm new in Autodesk Simulation and I want to make a quick consult if it is possible, because this are my first attempt.

In the moment I work on my master's graduate project - Analysis of Stadium Roof Structure.

So I have two very critical steel element, that i need to analysis - stress and crack/fracture. I make the elements in AutoCAD -> Fusion -> Multiphysics 2013.

Some information for the roof. It almost the same as the roof on Green Point Stadium (at Cape Town, South Africa).

roofshape.jpg

From outside is beam compression ring from big box sections 1,2m x 2,2m and length from 10 to 11,50m.

The inter tension ring is from 8 locked-coil strands, 98mm in diameter. The radial cables are the same.

So.. for element One: parts of two box sections with structural bearing and "ears" for the cable and the steel farm.

Original section :

el.one-orig.1.JPG

Made by me.

el.one-view.1.PNGel.one-view.2.PNGel.one-view.3.PNGel.one-view.4.PNG

I define the the light green and the darker purple parts as Plates, all other as Brick.

Default contact type: Welded. Contact between the two plates is Surface. Material: AISI type H13 Hot Work tool Steel. (No European format's or I just can't find them)

I have not define the holes for the bolts in this model. Is this wrong or not?

I define fixed supports/constrains to this faces :

el.one-view.5.JPG

The results are :

el.one-view.6.JPGel.one-view.7.JPG

el.one-view.8.JPG

I think that I have some issue because is not normal to NOT have any forces in the right box section.

This is for the element One.

Some comments and recommendations?