Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 6
langmuirsystems
498 Views, 5 Replies

Steel in Tension

Hi all,

I'm a materials engineer by degree, but I'm learning how to use FEA for my master's project. I drafted a simple tensile specimen and a ran a nonlinear static analysis on it using autodesk simulation mechanical. The material I selected is ASTM A441 with a yield strength of 46ksi. I calculated that my tensile sample needs 2875lbf to acheive this stress, and so I applied this load to one end. To my amazement, when I ran the simulation it perfectly predicted the stress at 46.122 ksi. 

Now for my question...I want my model to able to predict the ultimate tensile strength of the sample. If I assume a tensile strength of 66ksi for the material and apply a corresponding load of 4125lbf, the von mises stress shows 77ksi in the  material not the expected 66ksi. I'm using the Von Mises Isotropic Hardening plasticity material element, and I'm using a tetrahedryl mesh. Any reason why I cant seem to predict the stress in the material after it has yielded??

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6

Hi mdowns8357,

What is the stress tensor result (in the direction of the tensile load) on the centerline of the model? (Select some elements across the section near the center of the model, right-click, and hide the unselected element. You may want to consider using a symmetry model or multiple parts so that you have a clean "break" at the center of the model.)

Message 3 of 6
zhuangs
in reply to: langmuirsystems