Discussion Groups

Simulation Mechanical and Multiphysics

Reply
Contributor
gordow
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎02-21-2008

Specifying file locations

456 Views, 4 Replies
11-18-2009 12:19 PM
We have been using Algor for at least 17 years, but have never tried to specify a folder where the FEA files that are automatically generated when an analysis is run are stored. We are in the process of getting our Inventor projects into the Vault and I would like to control where the FEA files are stored. I can't find any information on this in the help files or under some of the various menu selections like "Tools > Options..." Can file locations be specified and, if so, how? Can the FEA files be checked into the Vault from Algor?

Thanks.
Please use plain text.
Product Support
PipePakPat
Posts: 167
Registered: ‎11-12-2009

Re: Specifying file locations

11-19-2009 06:52 AM in reply to: gordow
Gordow,

Vault is a means of version control. Trying to use Algor files dyanaically with this system is not yet practical. Instead, I recommend that the model be "Checked-out" of Vault. One can then import into Algor and analyze. Finally, one would choose to create an archive of the model "FILE|ARCHIVES|Create". Upload the resulting *.ach file to Vault. This single compressed file will contian all of Algor's component files.

Most temporary files are stored within the model's *.ds_data directory, but some temporary files are located in the TEMP or TMP directories on your computer, which are automatically deleted at the end of the anlaysis. Some temporary files produced in the *.ds_data directory are used as input for other Algor analyses. For this reason, it may not be practical to run an analysis while a model resides in Vault.

Pat Tessaro
Autodesk Inc.
Pat Tessaro, P.E.
Customer Support Engineer

Autodesk, Inc.
285 Kappa Drive
Suite 250
Pittsburgh, PA 15238
Please use plain text.
Contributor
gordow
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎02-21-2008

Re: Specifying file locations

11-19-2009 07:06 AM in reply to: gordow
Thanks for the input on using Vault with Algor files. Archiving is a process I have gotten out of the habit of using but will dust it off.

As for where the Algor files are stored when an analysis is run, when an analysis is run on Part1, folders Part1 and Part1.ds_data are created as sub-folders in the folder where Part1.ipt is located. I would like to put these folders to be put in a folder named FEA. Is there a way to tell Algor to put them there? I would like the file Part1.fem to go there as well.
Please use plain text.
Product Support
PipePakPat
Posts: 167
Registered: ‎11-12-2009

Re: Specifying file locations

11-20-2009 05:06 AM in reply to: gordow
Gordow,

Unfortunately, there is no way to indicate where the Algor files will be created. They are always created in the directory where the original model file resides. If one were working on a single part, one can copy that part file to the FEA directory, open, then transfer to Algor. If one were working on an assembly, one can copy that single assembly file to the FEA directory, open, then transfer to Algor. Please let me know if you have further questions.

Pat Tessaro
Autodesk Inc.
Pat Tessaro, P.E.
Customer Support Engineer

Autodesk, Inc.
285 Kappa Drive
Suite 250
Pittsburgh, PA 15238
Please use plain text.
Contributor
jm74jensen
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-18-2008

Re: Specifying file locations

03-11-2013 05:58 AM in reply to: PipePakPat

I’m pretty much accustomed to where my FEA model input and results files are located. I also use the archive tool to package the models. I would like to change the location of the temporary files that are required during the analysis run. I now have a somewhat limited drive space and would like to point to a secondary drive for the temporary storage. I would also like opinions on what sort of drive would be appropriate, i.e. USB external drive, network server drive, secondary installed drive. I would really like to use a large capacity UBS external drive but am concerned if speed would be an issue.

Using Windows 7 running a local license copy of Simulation Mechanical, how to I redirect the temporary files location?

Please use plain text.