Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simulation and Manufacturing Tolerances

0 REPLIES 0
Message 1 of 1
Anonymous
245 Views, 0 Replies

Simulation and Manufacturing Tolerances

I apologize if this topic has already been discussed, but here is my dilemma. 

My company manufactures components that are primarily weldments made from plate and structural steel.  When these weldments are made, generally we design the components smaller than their actual size for fit-up.  For instance, if a components exact measurement is supposed to be 96", we might detail it out at 95-15/16" so that our shop has room to fit the component up and weld it in place.

I am an engineer, so I am repsonsible for coming up with the designs and running the necessary simulations, and then I pass it off to one of our detail designers that will detail all the components and verify the BOM.

I'm curious as to how people are dealing with this situation.  Ideally, I would like my work flow to be that I design the component how it needs to be (with the tolerances built in for manufacturing), and then one of our designers will do the detail drawings.  On the flip side of things, we also have situations where a component might already be modeled in Inventor with appropriate manufacturing tolerances, but we need to do FEA after it was already designed.