Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setting up Thermal stress Analysis

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
Leonel16
1522 Views, 6 Replies

Setting up Thermal stress Analysis

Deal All,

I am new to the software and I urgently need your help to clarify below concern:

Analysis background:

I need to know the stress build-up of my model caused by the change in temperature from 220C to 25C (cooldown condition) wherein my stress free condition will be at 220C. Since I have a stress producing change in temperature of (220-25 = 195C), what is the best way to represent this in Sim Mechanical.

Need to understand details of these two different approach on this analysis:

1.0   In the case wherein I will just set my load in the Analysis parameters as:

1.1 Source of temperature: Loads from FEA editor

1.2 Default Temperature: ______???????? – Is this value corresponds to the change in temperature (on my case 195C) or is this the reference temperature which my model will cools down to (on my case 25C) or this 220C?

1.3 Stress Free reference temperature: 220C – this can be set at element definition, set stress free temperature.

1.4 Temperature load – is it appropriate to set all parts/model to certain temperature (on my case 220C)?...or can this be set at 25C? what’s the essence of this temperature loading for me to relate into my objective of having a cool down condition from 220C to 25C.

I understand that the software solves first for the displacement (then this change in temperature will be a factor for that during calculation), then once displacement is achieved thus stress and strain can be obtained. Now, how to represent this change in temperature on this set-up is a big puzzle to me which I need your help to clarify.