Discussion Groups

Simulation Mechanical and Multiphysics

Reply
Product Support
PipePakPat
Posts: 167
Registered: ‎11-12-2009
Accepted Solution

Scheduled Analysis - Batch File - Class does not support automation

476 Views, 4 Replies
08-03-2012 11:30 AM

If one installs SP1 for Autodesk Simulation 2013, then the following error may occur either when attempting to run a "Scheduled" analysis, of if "Algor.exe" is called from the command line or a batch file:

 

"Class does not support automation or does not support expected interface"

 

AutomationError.jpg

 

This problem is caused by the "Analysis.exe" file installed with the "Autodesk_Simulation_2013_SP1_64-bit.msp".  The solution is to copy the "Analysis.exe" file from the pre SP1 installation directory to an intermediate location, then install the 2013 SP1.  Next, paste that previously copied "Analysis.exe" file into the Simulation 2013 installation directory (which may be at the following location: "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Simulation 2013\"), while overwriting the newly deposited "Analysis.exe" from the SP1 installation. 

Pat Tessaro, P.E.
Customer Support Engineer

Autodesk, Inc.
285 Kappa Drive
Suite 250
Pittsburgh, PA 15238
Please use plain text.
Contributor
rsmith
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-30-2011

Re: Scheduled Analysis - Batch File - Class does not support automation

08-21-2012 01:39 PM in reply to: PipePakPat

This also affects the Mesh Study Wizard and Accuracy Manual Scripts. Just thought I would post that so it comes up in searches. I hope their is an official fix in the works.

Please use plain text.
Member
jclews
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-23-2012

Re: Scheduled Analysis - Batch File - Class does not support automation

10-04-2012 04:48 PM in reply to: PipePakPat

How do you get back the old (pre SP1) Analysis.exe file if you have already installed SP1?

 

Thanks,

Justin

 

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
AstroJohnPE
Posts: 561
Registered: ‎08-30-2012

Re: Scheduled Analysis - Batch File - Class does not support automation

10-04-2012 05:38 PM in reply to: jclews

You can try this version which is from version 2012. I doubt that there were any changes between 2012 and 2013, so this should work. You'll let us know!

 

Naturally, save this file to the folder where the software was installed, and remove the .TXT extension I added to get the file attached.

 

John Holtz, PE
Mechanical Engineer
Pittsburgh, PA

Simulation Mechanical user since Dec 1997
Please use plain text.
Member
jclews
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-23-2012

Re: Scheduled Analysis - Batch File - Class does not support automation

10-05-2012 08:26 AM in reply to: AstroJohnPE

Thanks John. Fortunately, I had a co-worker who had not updgraded, so I copied his file and it worked just fine.

 

Thanks for the reply nonetheless!

 

Regards,

Justin

 

Please use plain text.