Discussion Groups

Simulation Mechanical and Multiphysics

Reply
Contributor
humbug1987
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Accepted Solution

Problems with meshing.

236 Views, 6 Replies
05-10-2012 09:26 AM

I have problems meshing with the Algor Simulation 2012 still.

 

This time I have drawn a second kind of ports for anothing kind of engine and I kept in mind that I need to keep the model basic and simple.

 

In particular, it seems to be having particular problem meshing the surface of two lofted port shapes to make a Y junction.

 

I was very deliberate with my process of modeling, and only chose to model what is important. I am trying to see the difference between my two models however this software is not doing what its supposed to do.

 

I have attached the files I am trying to simulate. All other complex shapes are meshing exept for this intersected lofted section. I dont know any other way to model it without using the loft tool.

 

Thanks in advance.

 

Brendan

Please use plain text.
Contributor
humbug1987
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Problems with meshing.

05-16-2012 07:56 AM in reply to: humbug1987

 

Please, any advice would be greatly appreciated :smileyhappy:

 

Thanks in advance.

Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
madg1
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎03-16-2012

Re: Problems with meshing.

05-16-2012 01:05 PM in reply to: humbug1987

can u upload the model in stp format....and i see the part as one complete solid part....it doesn't have wall thickness right....i tried to mesh the part.....failed at the loft...so if you can ...upload the step file.....i will try to mesh it....

madg1
ASIMM 2012
Please use plain text.
Contributor
humbug1987
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Problems with meshing.

05-18-2012 03:23 AM in reply to: madg1

Thanks for the reply.

I looked into step exporter for autocad... however this wasn't working. So I finally loaded up my drawing in 2007 solidworks sp5, and saved as step file. Simulation couldn't read the STEP AP203 format so I tried the STEP AP214 format at that worked. I was able to mesh the model at 100% no problem! I'm quite impressed!

I made no changes to the file except exporting from solid works. Unfortunately this silly autodesk forum wont allow me to attach step files. Its nothing but problems with autodesk...

To be honest, I'm a little disappointed that Autodesk products can't work together. If AD is just buying programs and slapping their name on it, they should at least try to fix this most obvious compatibility issue.

 

Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
madg1
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎03-16-2012

Re: Problems with meshing.

05-18-2012 05:14 AM in reply to: humbug1987

try to zip  and upload...

madg1
ASIMM 2012
Please use plain text.
Contributor
humbug1987
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Problems with meshing.

05-18-2012 08:27 AM in reply to: madg1

Its ok, I've got it working now.

 

Thanks for your help. I'll be sure to come back when the program misbehaves again.

 

Thanks again.

Please use plain text.
Employee
INACTIVE_AstroJohn
Posts: 492
Registered: ‎03-25-2010

Re: Problems with meshing.

05-18-2012 10:12 AM in reply to: humbug1987

Hi Brendan,

 

Just a couple of notes for future reference.

 

If a model does not mesh, try to turn off the "Mesh > Mesh > Use VCad" option.

 

Try version 2013. We spent a year replacing our CAD kernel with the corporate Autodesk kernel, so model transfer between Autodesk products is much better.

 

I was able to get both of your models to mesh using the two items I mentioned. They needed a finer mesh than the default, too.

 

Sincerely,
John Holtz, P.E.
Senior User Experience Designer, Simulation
Autodesk, Inc.

Current version of Mechanical & Multiphysics: 2013 SP1 (2013.01.00.0012 28-Jun-2012)
Please use plain text.