Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Partitioning an existing surface

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
mike_kertrain
480 Views, 4 Replies

Partitioning an existing surface

Good day everybody,

I'm testing out the trial version of Simulation Muliphysics and I have a question about partioning and applying surface loads.  I am relatively new to the Autodesk environment so this might be a very basic question.  I am coming from an Abaqus and ANSYS background.

Can I not partition an exisiting surface to add a surface load to a specific area of the part?  Please see the attached figure.  The inside of the hole is defined by surface 1 and surface 2.  I'd like to imitate a pin (as a surface pressure) acting on the the hole within the yellow lines.  However, I cannot select that region without selecting the entire inside surface of the hole.  I'm assuming that there is an easy way to do this but I haven't come across anything yet in this forum.

Any help would be appreciated.

-MB

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
John_Holtz
in reply to: mike_kertrain

Hi MB,

Out of curiosity, how would you do it in the other products you mentioned?

In Simulation 2013, one option would be "Setup > Loads > Bearing". You can apply this load to the "entire" surface of the hole, but the software knows to only apply the parabolic-like load to the portion that is plus or minus 90 degrees to the radial direction that you specify.

The second option would be to split the surface of the hole in your CAD software. If you want the load over a very specific area, this is the best method.