Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Merging Vertices in Algor

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
B_A_T
591 Views, 3 Replies

Merging Vertices in Algor

Hi,

I am new at Algor and I have a bunch of beams that do not have coicident vertices, and they were acting unconnected to each other when I performed the analysis, they are not very far from each other but enough to not be coicident. Is there an easy way to turn two vertices to one? besides doing it one by one.. I had success moving one vertice to the other and then they communicate but I have tons of them to equivelance and was hoping there was a faster way

Thank you,

Brad

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
John_Holtz
in reply to: B_A_T

Hi Brad,

Try "Draw > Modify > Set Search Tolerance" followed by "Draw > Modify > Global Snap".

Note that if the lines are on different part numbers, the FEA Editor will always show one vertex for each part. When the simulation is performed, the vertices are merged -- based on the type of contact specifies (near the bottom of the browser) -- into one node. In the case of linear stress, the only contact types that are applicable for beam elements are bonded and free. Seems like you have found a manual way to accomplish both of those Smiley Wink

Out of curiousity, how did you end up with so many disconnects? If this was an imported drawing, such as a DXF file, many of the commands under "Draw > Modify" drop-down panel will be useful for cleaning up the drawing for FEA.

John Holtz, P.E.

Global Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

If not provided already, be sure to indicate the version of Inventor Nastran you are using!

"The knowledge you seek is at knowledge.autodesk.com" - Confucius 😉
Message 3 of 4
B_A_T
in reply to: John_Holtz