Discussion Groups

Simulation Mechanical and Multiphysics

Reply
Contributor
rsmith
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-30-2011
Accepted Solution

Inventor Weld Beads to Autodesk Simulation

989 Views, 3 Replies
04-03-2012 08:34 AM

Hello,

 

I have an Inventor weldment with fillet weld beads. When I transfer the weldment to Simulation Multiphysics the fillet weld beads are not present. I know the beads will not create contacts, I am not after that. I just want the geometry of the bead present.

 

Transferring the model to the Inventor Stress Analysis retains the weld beads, I can even apply loads to the faces of the beads. But Simulation Mechanical / Multiphysics does not appear to support them.

 

Am I doing something wrong?

 

Thanks 

Please use plain text.
Employee
PipePakPat
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎11-12-2009

Re: Inventor Weld Beads to Autodesk Simulation

04-03-2012 11:52 AM in reply to: rsmith

Perhaps you could upload your Inventor assembly and part files for my review.  I can then determine if the welds can be imported into the Simulation interface.

Pat Tessaro, P.E.
Customer Support Engineer

Autodesk, Inc.
285 Kappa Drive
Suite 250
Pittsburgh, PA 15238
Please use plain text.
Contributor
rsmith
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-30-2011

Re: Inventor Weld Beads to Autodesk Simulation

04-09-2012 05:42 AM in reply to: rsmith

You sound suprised. This is supposed to work then?

 

I just threw together a quick weldment, and sent it to Sim. No bead. All files attached.

 

Thanks

Please use plain text.
Active Contributor
lemensk
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎11-19-2012

Re: Inventor Weld Beads to Autodesk Simulation

11-21-2012 12:29 PM in reply to: rsmith

rsmith!  I may have some news on your issue!  I've been doing some trouble shooting and figuring out why I couldn't get inventor welds in Simulation.  I was convinced that this feature wasn't supported since weld beads aren't parts in inventor, just an illistration tool.  It wasn't until I came across this post and saw the Autodesk Employee response to the situation that I realized that this feature IS supposed to be supported.

 

I got welds in my simulaton model!!!  I don't understand why, but this is what I figured out:
*To import an inventor model with weld beads, Open up Simulation FIRST and specify the inventor file and the welds should be there.
*DO NOT click on the shortcut ribbon in Inventor that loads your model into Simulation, for some reason the conversion does not like welds. 

 

Hope this helps.  If not you, I hope it helps all the other stressed out engineers out there!

Please use plain text.