Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Initial Gaps and Contact

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
BEC_Kevin
875 Views, 9 Replies

Initial Gaps and Contact

I am having some trouble getting gap elements to work. I have never used these before, so I am after a little guidance.

This is a linear structural analysis of a small assembly. Initialy, I have a gap of about .125" that eventually hits a surface. To make the matter worse, it is sort of like a square rotating inside a box, so the contact is edge to a surface. I have tried defining some gap elements in the assembly but I could not get a solution after 2 hours of run time. WIthout the gap elements, the "square" is just rotating through the "box".Would it be recommended that I plan to allow the analysis to run longer than 2 hours? Perhaps overnight?

Any tips or thoughts would be greatly appriciated! Thank you in advance.

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
S.LI
in reply to: BEC_Kevin

did you try to set contacts between "square" and "box" instead of gap elements?

Are you using ALgor MES? 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If this response answers your concern, please mark it as "solved".
Message 3 of 10
John_Holtz
in reply to: S.LI

I presume that a "linear structural analysis" means that the analysis type is Linear Static Stress. If this is correct, then the hand-drawn gap elements are the only option, and these can only connect nodes on the square to nodes on the surface. (This is true of all types of contact in linear stress, but Mechanical Event Simulation -- MES -- has true node to surface contact.)