Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to simulate upper surface blowing?

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
jsenna
711 Views, 6 Replies

How to simulate upper surface blowing?

Hello, I am a student and new to using autodesk simulator

I am trying to get the force generated by the combined effects of the Coanda effect and bernoulis principle on a surface. I designed a simble L-shaped model where one wall has a prescibed velocity that blows over the other. However, when I tried to simulate it it acted as if the fluid was flowing on the inside of my model, instead of being blown over it.. Is there a setting I need to change to make the flow external and the object solid? Also, has this kind of calculation been attempted before with this software?

Ive attached a screenshot of my results

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
Joey.X
in reply to: jsenna

Could you post your whole model and all boundary conditions applied? 

Any numerical model is partial portion of the physical model, the model setup(cincluding BCs) depends on the assumptions. 

Jianhui Xie, Ph.D
Principal Engineer
MFG-Digital Simulation
Message 3 of 7
John_Holtz

Hi jsenna,

I do not understand your figure, and only partially understand your description. But it sounds like you modeled the solid. In a fluid flow analysis, you need to model the fluid, not the solid. The surfaces of the fluid in contact with the solids will automatically receive a 0 velocity constraint (unless you apply a different load to such surfaces).

John Holtz, P.E.

Global Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

If not provided already, be sure to indicate the version of Inventor Nastran you are using!

"The knowledge you seek is at knowledge.autodesk.com" - Confucius 😉
Message 4 of 7
jsenna
in reply to: John_Holtz