Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fluid flow through relief valve

15 REPLIES 15
Message 1 of 16
alok
900 Views, 15 Replies

Fluid flow through relief valve

I am relatively new to Autodesk Multiphisycs as I have been using Fluent for most of my CFD projects. I want to simulate flow through a valve body (attached herewith). The inlet is from the side and the outlet is at the bottom. The fluid entes at the inlet with velocity of 10 in/s and pressure of 1500 Psi. I am trying to give the velocity inlet B.C. at the inlet and the prescribed velocity at the outlet and run the simulation for unsteady fluid flow analysis, but somehow I am getting bizzare results. I am sure I am missing something, but not able to figure out. Do I have to specify the internal section of the valve body as fluid?

Also is there any wall boundary condition to be given for the bounding surfaces?

Any help would be really appreciated.

Thanks in advance!!!

15 REPLIES 15
Message 2 of 16
hupn
in reply to: alok

Hi,

As you mentioned that "The fluid enters at the inlet with velocity of 10 in/s and pressure of 1500 Psi. I am trying to give the velocity inlet B.C. at the inlet and the prescribed velocity at the outlet". This is kind of confusing. Please check the Wikihelp for boundary conditions definition: http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Autodesk_Simulation/enu/2012/Help/0220-Setting_220/0289-Setting_289/043....  You may want to define the velocity and pressure at the side inlet, and define the inlet/outlet boundary condition at the your outlet.

hupn 

Message 3 of 16
Joey.X
in reply to: hupn

According to your description, it sounds that you got not-converged result since the 1500psi outlet pressure makes the convergence difficulty.