Discussion Groups

Simulation Mechanical and Multiphysics

Reply
Member
MAURIZIO_TPJ
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-23-2013

FEA errors or Warning Message from SIM MECH 2014

143 Views, 2 Replies
03-25-2014 08:43 AM

Hi,

 

I am receiving a FEA error message from SIM MECH 2014:

 

 

 Autodesk (R) Simulation Natural Frequency (Modal)
 Version 2014.01.00.0025-W64/X64 26-Jul-2013
 Copyright (c) 2013, Autodesk, Inc. All rights reserved.

-------------------------------------------------
                          DATE: MARCH 25, 2014               
                          TIME: 04:37 PM
                   INPUT MODEL: C:\Users\ANALYSIS\Desktop\LAVORO TPJ\Progetti Mechanical Simulation\SKID_A_B.ds_data\2\ds

                    PROGRAM VERSION: 201401000025
            alg-win-x64.dll VERSION: 201401000025
       agsdb_ar-win-x64.dll VERSION: 201401000025
      algconfig-win-x64.dll VERSION: 201401000025
 solvercallback-win-x64.dll VERSION: 201401000025
               amgsolve.exe VERSION:    360000000
 
-------------------------------------------------

 **** Model Unit System Settings:
      --------------------------------------------
       Unit System              : Personalizzato
       Force                    : N
       Length                   : mm
       Time                     : s
       Temperature (Absolute)   : deg C (K)
       Thermal Energy           : J
       Voltage                  : V
       Current                  : A
       Electrical Resistance    : ohm
       Mass                     : N*s^2/mm
      --------------------------------------------

                                                 
1**** CONTROL INFORMATION                        
                                                 
      number of node points          (NUMNP)   =        376892
      number of element types        (NELTYP)  =           158
      number of load cases           (LL)      =             1
      number of frequencies          (NF)      =             5
      analysis type code             (NDYN)    =             1
      equations per block            (KEQB)    =             0
      bandwidth minimization flag    (MINBND)  =            -1
      gravitational constant         (GRAV)    =    9.8146E+03
      number of equations            (NEQ)     =       2134242

 **** PRINT OF NODAL DATA SUPPRESSED             
 **** PRINT OF EQUATION NUMBERS SUPPRESSED       
 **** Part     1: plate (shell) elements
Error occurred with module: C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Simulation 2014\srunx.exe

 

 

The model has been created from two separate model including them in a new file, do you have an idea to solve the problem?

 

I tryied to "suppress" any parts step by step but the model does not work.

 

Thanks

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
AstroJohnPE
Posts: 521
Registered: ‎08-30-2012

Re: FEA errors or Warning Message from SIM MECH 2014

03-26-2014 06:58 AM in reply to: MAURIZIO_TPJ

Maurizio,

 

Based on the line before the error message, your model is crashing the software when Part 1 is being loaded or when the next part is being loaded. If you have a natural frequency analysis (modal) that does run successfully, you can look at the log file from that analysis. Is the line in the log file after the line "Part 1: ssssssssss elements" refering to part 1 or the next part? It probably says "X number of elements" in which case you know that it crashed while working on part 1, or it will say "Part N: ssssssss elements" which is still ambiguous whether it crashed on part 1 or the next.

 

Other than that, it is hard to know what caused the crash. Obviously, take a look at the input for part 1 and the next part to make sure the input is correct. I suggest that you look at the input while using the "Model" unit system; that is, your personal unit system that you created. Or maybe you want to use the Metric (SI) units to check the input?

John Holtz, PE
Mechanical Engineer
Pittsburgh, PA

16 years experience with Simulation Mechanical
Please use plain text.
Member
MAURIZIO_TPJ
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-23-2013

Re: FEA errors or Warning Message from SIM MECH 2014

03-26-2014 09:21 AM in reply to: AstroJohnPE

John,

 

many thanks for your promt answer.

 

I tried to duplicate Part 1 as a new part and delete the old one, I have the same problem on Part 2.

If you do the same on Part 2, the problem appears on Part 3 and so on.

 

Moreover I have translated the data base to Csv files and I have noted the Part 12012 in Element file...but in the model that part does not exist!!!

 

I need to solve this problem asap; I know that a possible way is to build new model but it takes too much time.

 

if useful for investigation, at below address you can find the archive of the analyzed model.

 

 https://www.dropbox.com/s/opidlytkw3xq4yo/SKID_A_B_test.ach

 

 

 

Regards

 

 

Please use plain text.