Discussion Groups

Simulation Mechanical and Multiphysics

Reply
Member
medinh
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-28-2014

Error when meshing and simulating a part!

271 Views, 7 Replies
03-28-2014 03:23 AM

I have a problem when meshing my model.

I get this text when the error is find:

 

 

fem2esh - Make esh file from fem file for a specified design scenario
Version 2014.00.00.0513-W64/X64 22-Feb-2013
Copyright (c) 2013, Autodesk, Inc. All rights reserved.

Version of fem2esh.exe : 2014.00000513
Version of dcx1-win-x64.dll : 2014.00000513
Version of femapi-win-x64.dll : 2014.00000513
Version of agsdb_ar-win-x64.dll : 2014.00000513
Version of tsx2tsy.exe : 2014.00000513

Input Model : C:\Autodesk\2014-13-26\Ram_simulering.ds_data\1\ds
Input File : C:\Autodesk\2014-13-26\Ram_simulering.fem
Output File : C:\Autodesk\2014-13-26\Ram_simulering.ds_data\1\ds.mod\group.esh
Log File : C:\Autodesk\2014-13-26\Ram_simulering.ds_data\1\ds.mod\group.ldx
Design scenario : 1
Analysis type : Linear Stress
Start time : 2014/03/28-11:17:39

--- Get 34 active element parts in range [1, 34] from fem file
--- 1 enabled L&C groups are defined
--- Get 233086 points defined in range [1, 270785] from fem file
Calling the Surface Topology Generator (tsx2tsy)...
tsx2tsy: Update part surface contact/bonding data (duration=1 sec.)
Making interior points for midside nodes...
--- Made 75209 interior points for midside nodes
Set up nodal properties such as admissible BC etc. by adjacent elements...

In working on FEM file for a FEA model
Terminal Error: FEM2ESH#63
NO_3D_ELEMENT: please check meshing phase 11
2014/03/28-11:17:41

 

Its a problem with part 11 (se picture below), there is a (i) marked on the part. What does this mean? And I get a error when meshing this part.

error

 

And as you can se, the joint lookes wird at the nearest wheel. I dont know if its a bug or something but when i created the joint, I selected the area in the holes where the joint should run through. It should look like the other wheel but it dosent.. Is it just a bug or something wrong?

Please use plain text.
Product Support
KubliJ
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎11-16-2011

Re: Error when meshing and simulating a part!

03-28-2014 03:46 PM in reply to: medinh

Hi Medinh,

 

The Terminal error refers to a part not have a solid mesh.  Looking at the screen shot, it does appear to be part 11.  The little 'i' icon for the part; it means that Sim Mech sees disconnected surface edges, i.e. not a solid part.  This usually means a CAD problem with the part.  What CAD package was the model created in?  Is part 11 supposed to be a solid body or is it a surface body?

 

Thanks,

James



James Kubli


Please marked this as solved if your question has been answered.
Please use plain text.
Member
medinh
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-28-2014

Re: Error when meshing and simulating a part!

04-01-2014 05:12 AM in reply to: medinh

Thanks for quick answer!
I use Autodesk Inventor. There is no problem with the cad file in inventor. I can run some simultaions there without warninngs. 
The part should be solid like the other ones, i dont understand why it shouldn't. I use solid parts in mesh settings. It has the same settings as other parts.
Somehow it managed to create a tetrahedron mesh after a few times trying. BUT there is another problem now!
When i run the analasys, nothing happens! Everything is zero! The displacement, von mises stress, evertything. I have a gravity load with 20G! and I put the general constrains (fixed) at the four wheels. 

When I run the simulations i get these warnings:


Warning: zero stiffness replaced by 1.0E+20 in EQN#51106 at NODE#17038 DOF Tx

Warning: zero stiffness replaced by 1.0E+20 in EQN#51107 at NODE#17038 DOF Ty

Warning: zero stiffness replaced by 1.0E+20 in EQN#51108 at NODE#17038 DOF Tz

Warning: zero stiffness replaced by 1.0E+20 in EQN#51109 at NODE#17039 DOF Tx

Warning: zero stiffness replaced by 1.0E+20 in EQN#51110 at NODE#17039 DOF Ty

 

And this is how it looks like:

fel.jpg

 

 

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
dharhay
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎04-11-2008

Re: Error when meshing and simulating a part!

04-01-2014 06:14 AM in reply to: medinh
If I understand a portion of what you are experiencing, I may have had a similar problem. Last year I spent several weeks trying to solid mesh large linear models. A solid meshing error randomly occurred from part to part that was thought to be a problem with the Inventor modeling. I was given a lot of help from Autodesk on this with Beta software versions, etc. and the solution was to get more ram! Now I have 16 gig and the solid meshing issue is gone.

This may be a long shot and I may not understand your issue, but look into your ram on the computer.

[cid:image001.png@01CF4D89.4FBF5030]



David HARHAY

Principal Engineer

- Steel

Fives Bronx Inc.

8817 Pleasantwood Avenue NW

North Canton, Ohio, 44720 - United States

Tel: +1 (330) 244 1960 ext. 264

Fax: +1 (330) 244 1961


david.harhay@fivesgroup.com

www.fivesgroup.com

[cid:image002.png@01CF4D89.4FBF5030][cid:image003.png@01CF4D89.4FBF5030]
Dave H
Please use plain text.
Member
medinh
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-28-2014

Re: Error when meshing and simulating a part!

04-01-2014 06:39 AM in reply to: medinh

Thank you for the tip! But the computer have 4gb RAM, and the system requires only 2gb, so it shouldnt be a problem.. 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
KubliJ
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎11-16-2011

Re: Error when meshing and simulating a part!

04-01-2014 09:59 AM in reply to: medinh

Hi Medinh,

 

The zero stiffness warnings are likely caused by elements being removed due to being highly distorted.  Still sounds like a meshing issue.  I want you to remesh the model with the following mesh setting tweak.  Go to 3D mesh settings -> Options -> Model and deselect Use Automatic Geometry based mesh size function.  Now remesh the model.  That will give you a more uniform mesh, which is handy when solid meshing thin parts.

 

Thanks,

James



James Kubli


Please marked this as solved if your question has been answered.
Please use plain text.
Member
medinh
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-28-2014

Re: Error when meshing and simulating a part!

04-03-2014 03:46 AM in reply to: KubliJ

It dosen't help, still same problem..

Please use plain text.
Product Support
KubliJ
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎11-16-2011

Re: Error when meshing and simulating a part!

04-03-2014 09:52 AM in reply to: medinh

Hi Medinh,

 

Can you upload the model to look at?

 

Thanks,

James



James Kubli


Please marked this as solved if your question has been answered.
Please use plain text.