Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cylindrical Model Meshing Help

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
william.smith-keegin
391 Views, 3 Replies

Cylindrical Model Meshing Help

Hello,

I'm rather new to the world of AutoDesk, and particularly to AutoDesk Simulation. I'm carrying out some heat transfer FEA for a research project, and I'm having a bit of trouble making a decent mesh out of the model.

The model consists of a simple cylinder (50mm wide, 100mm long), with a 1.1mm hole drilled from one end to the midpoint. Into this hole is inserted a 1mm thermocouple (currently modelled as a pair or concentric cylinders). The air in the hole surrounding the thermocouple is modelled as a separate body. The geometry is imported as a 3D model created in AutoDesk Inventor. 

I'm meshing using pretty standard parameters (I can't quite remember the specifics) – a pretty low element size, as well as a low aspect ratio and warp angle limit. I think I had around 20 refinement points, all situated along the thermocouple. The mesh generated looks fairly good on the surface but really messy on the interior.

In some analyses, the air gap was at a higher temperature than both the thermocouple and cylinder – which seems impossible to me. This is presumably not a meshing issue though.

Here are some pictures. I guess what I am looking for is some advice as to how to make the mesh a bit better. It seems like a mesh composed of subdivided concentric circles would be a lot better. If anyone has any advice as to how to improve anything, that would be much appreciated. Various models could be supplied if required.

Thanks,

Will

3D View.png

A 3D view of the entire model.

Mesh View.png

An interior view (via slice plane) of the model.

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4