Discussion Groups

Simulation Mechanical and Multiphysics

Reply
Contributor
Petr.Krysl
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
Accepted Solution

Can I create a contour plot of pressure?

224 Views, 4 Replies
07-09-2012 01:33 PM

How do I create a contour plot of the pressure in the material?  I can't find it in the menus…

 

Thanks,

 

Petr

Please use plain text.
Employee
S.LI
Posts: 398
Registered: ‎05-06-2010

Re: Can I create a contour plot of pressure?

07-10-2012 06:56 AM in reply to: Petr.Krysl

If you are talking about stress analysis for structures, I would say "no". Stress/strain/displacement etc. make more sense in solid mechanics.

If you mean "CFD", I think pressure output should be there.

For other analysis types, I'm not sure. Probably not.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If this response answers your concern, please mark it as "solved".
Please use plain text.
Contributor
Petr.Krysl
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎07-05-2012

Re: Can I create a contour plot of pressure?

07-11-2012 02:28 PM in reply to: S.LI

What about the "custom results" dialogue? Wouldn't that be useful for something like this? I have defined the pressure variable as shown in the attached snapshot of the dialogue, but nothing gets displayed.  Am I doing something wrong?

 

Thanks,

 

Petr

Please use plain text.
Employee
INACTIVE_AstroJohn
Posts: 492
Registered: ‎03-25-2010

Re: Can I create a contour plot of pressure?

07-11-2012 02:52 PM in reply to: Petr.Krysl

It looks as if the Custom Results menu is broken in the ribbon interface. You can define the result, but you cannot choose to display it. :smileyfrustrated:

 

To display a custom result, you need to switch to the old style menu ("Tools > Options > Application Options" and uncheck "Ribbon Style" on the "General Information" tab).

 

 

Sincerely,
John Holtz, P.E.
Senior User Experience Designer, Simulation
Autodesk, Inc.

Current version of Mechanical & Multiphysics: 2013 SP1 (2013.01.00.0012 28-Jun-2012)
Please use plain text.
Contributor
Petr.Krysl
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎07-05-2012

Re: Can I create a contour plot of pressure?

07-11-2012 03:09 PM in reply to: INACTIVE_AstroJohn

Thanks.

 

P

Please use plain text.