Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Applying a load until peak stress?

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
langmuirsystems
365 Views, 1 Reply

Applying a load until peak stress?

Hi all,

I have a part that I'm loading in tension and I'd like to simulate a tensile test. I'd like to load the part at a displacement rate of 0.1 in/min until a target von mises stress value is reached. How do I go about doing this? I'm new to ASM so bare with me...

On a related note, if I run a simulation, is it possible to have a load curve genreated that plots max stress vs displacement?

Thanks,

M

1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2

Hi,

For the first part, you cannot easily have the analysis stop once a certain stress has been obtained. Therefore, you just need to apply a prescribe displacement and pull far enough so that you are certain that the stress result will be achieve at some time during the analysis. (Although not entirely the same as what you are doing -- and what tutorial is ever the same as what you are doing -- search the help for "Build a cantilever beam". This will locate the step-by-step Example that uses prescribe displacements. It is similar enough that you should be able to setup your analysis.)