Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Analysis showing non-symmetric results to symmetric problem

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
jones79
704 Views, 9 Replies

Analysis showing non-symmetric results to symmetric problem

Hello! I am new to Algor and encountered a problem while I was trying to calculate a rather simple steady-state heat transfer. The assembly was created using Inventor 2011 and consists of two parts (cuboids). The result shows a clearly non-symmetric solution to a symmetric problem. The mesh size does influence the non-symmetry and is much worse with a wide mesh size. I attached a picture that shows the problem (was created from a fine mesh, 10% autosize) Loads -------- Heat Flux: front side of thin cuboid (simulates sunshine) Convection: front and back side of thin cuboid I hope you can help me with that. Kind regards, Walter
9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
John_Holtz
in reply to: jones79

Hi Walter, welcome to Autodesk Simulation (a.k.a. Algor)

I am having trouble interpreting the image that you attached. A 3-D view may be helpful. I do not see the symmetry in the model, but I am guessing that the symmetry that you expect to see is that the bottom green and yellow contours should be straight like the top band. Correct?

What result are you showing? Temperature? Heat Flux? Heat Rate of Face?

It also depends on whether you are looking at an external face, or a face on a slice plane, and so on.

If permissible, you can create an archive of the model ("File > Archive > Create") and attach the resulting .ach file to this forum.

John Holtz, P.E.

Global Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

If not provided already, be sure to indicate the version of Inventor Nastran you are using!

"The knowledge you seek is at knowledge.autodesk.com" - Confucius 😉