Community
CFD Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s CFD Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular CFD topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to run CFD with regions

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
andrew.lesiecki
848 Views, 9 Replies

Unable to run CFD with regions

Hello,

I am a student and i have been using Autodesk CFD 13 for about a year now and have become fairly comfortable with it. When the 2014 version came out i downloaded it along with the 360 pro version. The cloud version I would always get an error that sai "the server has exited unexpectedly" I was able to run a very simple cfd but as soon as I applied any mesh regions to it it wouldn't work. With the normal version of 14 anytime I added a region to it, it would tell me I dont have enough RAM which isnt the case but i cleared some room anyway and now it just wont run it will just sit there after it surfaces meshes.

So I kind of gave up on the 2014 versions since I dont have the time to figure them out and decided to go back to 2013 that i know how to work. Well now I can't get the 2013 to work anytime i add a mesh region to it. I have read through the forums and it suggest it to be on the C drive and both 2014 versions were but my  2013 is on an external harddrive which has worked just fine for the past year.

Attatched is the .cfz of the simulation I was trying to run in 2013. It says my file is too large to attatch.

Thanks,

Andrew

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
Jon.Wilde
in reply to: andrew.lesiecki

Hi Andrew, 

OK, so to be clear, you can run 2013 and 2014 but when you add a region it does not work?
It is entirely possible you are running out of RAM, what is the mesh estimate before and after adding the region? We need about  2GB of RAM for each million elements. If you are running on 360, you cannot change the available RAM as this is all remote.