Discussion Groups

Simulation CFD

Reply
Member
dominikkreft
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-12-2012

too high velocity magnitude!

213 Views, 5 Replies
12-12-2012 04:32 AM

I simulation VAWT and in rotation region I know n = 360 RPM, this turbine have sizes 0,4m x 0,5m and CFD results is velocity magnitude about 3000 - 18 000 m/s.. (it should be max 20-25 m/s)  I think i didn't set well some options but have no idea which one.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
wildej
Posts: 779
Registered: ‎08-25-2011

Re: too high velocity magnitude!

12-13-2012 03:00 PM in reply to: dominikkreft

Hi,

 

This could be a number of things.

 

If you are running with air, perhaps you need to run compressible?

Maybe you do not have sufficient mesh?

Are the Rotating Region and Boundary Conditions set to ramp up properly over time?

 

Would you be OK to share the model?



Jon Wilde
Please use plain text.
Member
dominikkreft
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-12-2012

too high velocity magnitude!

12-15-2012 05:33 AM in reply to: dominikkreft

I try make flow compresible and nothing happend. I dont really know how to build "better" mesh.
in attachments i send in rar my project

Thank you for help!

Please use plain text.
Product Support
wildej
Posts: 779
Registered: ‎08-25-2011

Re: too high velocity magnitude!

12-18-2012 04:52 AM in reply to: dominikkreft

Hi,

 

Take a look in the hepl and the user guide for how to refine the mesh.

 

Could you save out a .cfz (share file - just the support option) and share that with me please? I cannot open a cfdst.



Jon Wilde
Please use plain text.
Member
dominikkreft
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-12-2012

I need to say thanks a lot! I don't refine mesh (In tutor...

12-18-2012 11:07 AM in reply to: dominikkreft

I need to say thanks a lot!
I don't refine mesh (In tutorials there was nothing about it but when you said that I should look at "wiki help" i found it without problems).

Secondly my model in inventor somehow has bad dimensions (everything x100) and here is solution for too high velocity magnitude

Please use plain text.
Product Support
wildej
Posts: 779
Registered: ‎08-25-2011

Re: I need to say thanks a lot! I don't refine mesh (In tutor...

12-19-2012 01:13 AM in reply to: dominikkreft

Thanks for letting me know, pleased it is working well



Jon Wilde
Please use plain text.