Discussion Groups

Simulation CFD

Reply
Active Member
samuel.arismendi
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-27-2013
Accepted Solution

Summary Inlet and Outlet count

98 Views, 2 Replies
07-09-2014 12:48 AM

Hi!

 

I´m having trouble with a compressed air simulation. The short story goes like this: We got a tube through which we are blowing air at high speed to a couple of open cylinders. When I say open, I mean that all the walls have 0 Pa as boundary condition, even the cylindrical surface. The problem comes in the Summary file, where I expect to find results for every single wall and I am only getting one inlet (the tubes opening) and two outlets (one on each open cylinder). I suppose this has to do with all of the surfaces of each cylinder having a boundary condition but it still makes me wonder why doesn't it recognizes 3 outlets for each one. I´ll add a photo if it needs more visualization. Thanks for your help!

 

 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
wildej
Posts: 844
Registered: ‎08-25-2011

Re: Summary Inlet and Outlet count

07-09-2014 02:42 AM in reply to: samuel.arismendi

Hi,

 

Please do share an image - I would also suggest you may not wish to set a model up with P=0's on adjacent walls. Any recirculation over a Boundary Condition can skew the results. Ideally we need to ensure that all flow goes in one direction and this is often done best by having a P=0 at the end of a tube.



Jon Wilde
Please use plain text.
Active Member
samuel.arismendi
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-27-2013

Re: Summary Inlet and Outlet count

07-14-2014 12:50 AM in reply to: wildej

Hi! 

 

I´m sorry, apparently I am not authorized to share an image. Thanks for the tip though. If I understood correctly, the best solution would be to work with a bigger surrounding air-part, so that the air, while having just one boundary with p= 0 Pa. This part has to be big enough so that the air has enough place to react like there are no walls and doesn't circulate through the boundaries. Also using the p=0 Pa in adjacent walls induces the software to think that there is just 1 outlet, without counting how many boundaries there really are.

 

Thank you!

Please use plain text.