Community
CFD Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s CFD Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular CFD topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simulating Wind Flow over a building

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
davidferguson92
612 Views, 3 Replies

Simulating Wind Flow over a building

Hello

I was wondering if anyone in the autodesk community could help me with a problem I am having using the CFD 2014 software. I am trying to simulate the wind flow over a building in a real environment in order to determine the turbulent intensity, wind speed and to visualize wake regions over a building.

I am a student and new to the software so I am having difficulty setting up the simulation correcty and unsure how I should be setting it up. I was wondering if someone would be kind enough to explain the steps required to run an accurate simulation for what I am trying to do.

Also I am trying to simulate a velocity profile coming into the domain, I have read a post related to this and it seems it isn't possible to input a power law or log law profile however you could achieve the same result by splitting the domain into several faces and assigning an appropriate velocity to each. I was wondering if this could be explained further as well please?. Would you create several new solids around the building until you reached your required fluid domain height, assign a velocity to each input say 20 different velocity to represent the velocity profile and for each of the solid assign air and slip/symmetry around all sides and tops of the solids? Except the bottom as it represents the ground?

I hope someone can help me on this and provide step by step procedures if possible or even images of what to do.

I would really appreciate the help, and couldn't thank someone enough if they can set me in the right direction.

Kind Regards

David

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
Jon.Wilde
in reply to: davidferguson92

Hi David,