Community
CFD Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s CFD Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular CFD topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sim of custom waterblock

2 REPLIES 2
SOLVED
Message 1 of 3
bikerbub
349 Views, 2 Replies

Sim of custom waterblock

I've run into a good few issues getting my sim to the point that it's at now, and I think I've gotten past most of the Win8.1/installation related issues. I've moved all of the project files over to my C:/ drive; they were originally on an internal storage volume. I'm new to CFM, but I've got enough experience with Inventor to be comfortable with the interface. I've spent a few days' free time reading through the wikihelp trying to get this sim to work, and I keep getting the "The Analysis has stopped because the Solver has exited unexpectedly" error. 

The goal of the design is to keep two power-mosfets cool. The Mosfets are represented in the sim by the copper pieces that are flush-constrained to the face opposite the inlet/outlet ports. They are through-hole mounted in the circuit design, so the Compact Thermal Model approach wouldn't quite work, but I don't know that my current approach is that much better. 

If I supress all parts of the imported model except the water, I can solve for flow and heat transfer, though the heat transfer information is useless at that point. If I add any of the parts back in to the simulation, it solves as far as "Meshing..." then quits with the aforementioned error message.

Thanks for your help
Josh

2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
Jon.Wilde
in reply to: bikerbub

I made a few changes:

1. Remove the internal radiation boundary conditions (this gets it running)
  2. Add a temp to the inlet 
  3. Use Gap Refinement with 3 gap elements
  4. 10 layer of mesh enhancement at 1.2 
  5. Use SST turbulence model (hence the mesh enhancement change)